Tetris Effect

tetriseffectkeyart1200x2.png

source

Best game to play while high

pageBreak.png

I don't really like playing video games when I am high, but Tetris Effect is an exception to that. There really aren't many games that are an actual "experience". This game has it all, from amazing trippy visuals to a truly awesome soundtrack. The coolest part of this is that you control the soundtrack with your moves as you progress through each level.

Tetris Effect came out a couple years ago, but they have improved on the game with the newly released Tetris Effect Connected, which brings some really cool multiplayer to the game.

barretttetriseffect07exported00032832still0011541178017268.jpg

source

I haven't tried the multiplayer modes yet because I have been playing through the campaign for the game. This game takes the normal Tetris that you know and love and adds so much more to it. Each level has a different theme and "song" that you play through as you try and clear the required amount of lines to progress to the next level.

Every time you move or rotate the shape, it plays a sound that goes along with the song. It is kind of hard to explain but as you are playing through the levels, the song is pretty much in your control and the visuals react to how well you are playing.

maxresdefault.jpg

source

As you play and clear lines, you fill up a "zone" meter, which allows you to stop time and gives you a chance to rack up some crazy scores. Previous to this game, you could only clear a maximum of four lines, which was called a Tetris, but now when you activate the zone meter, your lines that you clear during that time are added on to each other, giving you a chance to clear up to 16 lines and get a Decahexatris.

I guess this is a super hard feat to accomplish and only a few people have been able to get one while they were playing, but it is something that I am going to try for. I need to start tracking how many lines I clear when I am in "the zone". I think I got like 8 or something, but that was before I realized about the whole decahexatris thing.

decahexatrisjourneytetriseffect.jpg

source

There are like 30 different levels in the campaign and each one is a trip on its own. I am about halfway through the campaign and I am loving this experience. I was a huge Tetris player back in the day and this game is an amazing way to reignite my passion for the game.

It is hard to explain the journey that you can go on while playing this game when you are stoned, but the only way that I can really explain it is that it is a journey for your senses. It is best to play this game with either headphones are a nice stereo system so that you can "feel" the music as well. I love music games and this is a perfect way to enjoy some great music while feeling a bit elevated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency