Far Cry 5 - First Impressions


Far Cry® 5.jpg

My screenshot

A crazy ride out the gates

break.png

The Far Cry games have always done pretty well and my son really enjoyed them. I only really played the very first Far Cry game back in like 2004 and I really liked it. Now with Far Cry 6 coming out soon and having a pretty star heavy cast, I figured it was time to give part 5 a chance. I played this about two years ago for a couple hours and got really busy and never had a chance to continue, so I decided to start over last night.


Far Cry® 5 (12).jpg

My screenshot

The game takes place in the mountains of Montana and the story is all about some crazy cult that is terrorizing people in that area.


Far Cry® 5 (2).jpg

My screenshot

The game starts off with you accompanying a the Sherriff and a US Marshal to arrest the cult leader. You land in the cult's compound and make a pretty treacherous walk to the main church where the cult leader is.


Far Cry® 5 (3).jpg

My screenshot

When I was a cop, I have been in situations like this, where I was part of a team that had to go into hostile territory to arrest someone in front of all of their friends or family, so I know how tense and scary these situations can be when you are surrounded by people that hate you and want to kill you for even being in their territory.


Far Cry® 5 (4).jpg

My screenshot

The whole time as you are flying there and then walking to the church, the sheriff is trying to remind the Marshal that this is their territory and to be calm with how things go. You are vastly outnumbered and outgunned and in situations like this, the badge really doesn't mean anything and respect is all that you have to come out alive.


Far Cry® 5 (5).jpg

My screenshot

The cult leader's followers did not want to give him up easily, but he lets them know everything will be fine and then he pretty much surrenders.


Far Cry® 5 (6).jpg

My screenshot

So I cuff him up with his family behind him and then head out of the church to the helicopter.


Far Cry® 5 (7).jpg

My screenshot

So now you have to parade the cult leader past all of his followers as you make your way to the helicopter. Things start to get pretty tense as you get closer and the followers begin attacking everyone as they try and get their leader back.


Far Cry® 5 (8).jpg

My screenshot

As the helicopter is flying away, attackers begin climbing in and fighting with everyone. Some of them get killed, but they manage to crash the helicopter the process.


Far Cry® 5 (9).jpg

My screenshot

The police dispatcher can be overheard trying to communicate with them, but the cult leader gets on the radio and lets dispatch know that he is fine. This is where you find out the real power this cult has over the people in the area because the cult has even taken hold within the sheriff's ranks.


Far Cry® 5 (10).jpg

My screenshot

The cult takes the police hostage, but you manage to escape along with the Marshal and try to escape the hostile territory in a crazy car chase filled with plenty of explosions.


Far Cry® 5 (11).jpg

My screenshot

The truck you are escaping in crashes into the water and the Marshal is taken hostage, but you escape thanks to an old Army veteran that is trying to fight back against the cult members.


Far Cry® 5 (14).jpg

My screenshot

So armed with a machine gun and a mullet, I am off to dismantle the power that the cult has in this area.


Far Cry® 5 (13).jpg

My screenshot

I guess I will be trying to save the other members of law enforcement in the process, but I am not sure how deep the cult's hold has on everyone here.

The game is off to a fantastic start and I can't wait to get into it more. I am playing it on the Xbox Series X and it looks and plays amazingly. It is crazy how far this series has come from the very first Far Cry. I remember when I played that one how cool it looked because all of the leaves of the trees in the jungle would sway. Now that game looks like crap and it is hard to believe that it has almost been around for 20 years.


Far Cry® 5 (15).jpg

My screenshot

Now the game looks amazing and there seems to be so much to do. The first one was not an open world and it was very linear in its gameplay. I was never really a fan of the open world games, but ever since I started getting more into the Assassins Creed series, I have enjoyed open world games more and more. They are the perfect games to play while stoned because you can pretty much go and do whatever you want and play the game how you want to.

I think I will enjoy getting high and running around the woods of Montana and enjoying the scenery. Plus I will get to kill cult members in the process, so its a win win. I am hoping to be able to finish this game within about a month or so, but I will be splitting my time between this and World of Warcraft.

Overall, I think I am going to really enjoy this game. It is a blast so far and I can't wait to see where this crazy story will go from here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency