I finally got a new TV for my PS5

C620E3FD59634D58B3265FCC1E6FA45E.jpeg

Out with the old and in with the new 🤩

I had been gaming with my PS4 on an old Vizio 650-i B2 since 2015. My Vizio was a 65inch 1080p 60hz smart TV. Honestly this TV was amazing and I had so many great times with it. I was able to recently sell it for $150 which contributed to my savings on the new TV that I bought this past weekend.

Let me tell you the story about how I ended up with the new 4K TV that I chose to pair with my PlayStation 5.

74128A63E3D24B508C1BA049C2817FF6.jpeg

My first 4K TV finally 🤯

The choice for a new TV to fit the potential power of my PS5 was somewhat limited. Not many TVs have adopted the new HDMI 2.1 standard. Some of the ones that have also come with their own concerns or a hefty price tag.

After several weeks of research and contemplation, I finally had narrowed my choice down to four TVs.

  • 49in LG NanoCell 85 Series
    This TV was on sale for $499 and was the cheapest tv that I was considering that had HDMI 2.1. I was going to have to wait until December 14th to get this one since it was out of stock everywhere.

  • 65in LG NanoCell 90 Series
    My local Best Buy had an open-box version of this TV available for $889. I went last weekend and the employees couldn’t find the TV anywhere in their stock room. I went back this past weekend to try again and a different employee was there and was able to find the open-box 90 series. The thing is it was missing the magic remote which costs $70!

  • 55in LG CX
    This seems to be the go to TV for most people when it comes to next-gen gaming. It is at the top of all of the review charts, but it had two glaring concerns for me. One was the price of $1,399 for the smaller 55in version and that was on sale! The other was the fact that it was an OLED, which don’t get me wrong is beautiful. However OLEDs are still a pretty new technology and they run the chance of having burn in issues on the screen. As a gamer who plays many games that have HUDs that often do not move. Plus the fact that I may leave my TV on while I do something else occasionally, I was slightly put off by the OLED despite it looking amazing in store. I wanted a TV that would last me years.

  • 65in Sony X900H
    I actually had only briefly checked out this TV before going to Best Buy yesterday. I took it off of my list at first because it was well over $1,000 when I was looking at it and I figured I may as well get the LG CX for an extra hundred or so dollars. When I was talking to the employee that found the open-box Nano 90, he informed me that I could get a brand new Sony X900 for just $110 more than the open-box Nano 90 that was missing the remote. I was sold since the Sony was on sale for $999, which was $400 cheaper than the price I had seen it at before.

2AE7FC0705FE40A5ADCD8C763812E8AF.jpeg

Am I a Sony fanboy now 🤓

My console and my TV are both Sony branded, not necessarily on purpose either. I just purchased what worked best for me. I took into consideration my true desires and the best prices. It was not easy to wait patiently for years to get a new TV. It was especially hard to get a PS5 on day one and then continue to use my same old TV until Black Friday sales went active.

FDFCC237F45842C5965B603F84A925BF.jpeg

So far I am extremely happy 🙌

I’ve only had my new X900 setup for about a day now, but I am loving it so far. The picture is amazing when playing games at 4K 60fps. I haven’t gotten to try out 4K 120fps yet since none of my games run at that rate yet.

One of my favorite features is the simple fact that I can automatically turn on my TV with my PS5 DualSense controller. That and the fact that the DualSense has a mute button mean that I can use this TV to play video games without ever having to use the remote for the TV. Plus add in that I can use voice commands to control the TV and all sorts of other great features that Android TVs have to offer. I’m overwhelmed with new features honestly.

45467FEF6E5F4B0EB69E4AFCC02D77AD.jpeg

Waiting saved me a lot of money 🤑

I have already mentioned that the TV I purchased was on sale for $999 which was $400 off the normal price of $1,3999. I also said I sold my old Vizio TV for $150. One thing I haven’t mentioned until now is that I also had been saving $300 from my 28th birthday on October 9th, many thanks to my wonderful parents. I used that to lower the cost of the TV.

My total savings was $850!

D3C8064655E742EBA45B06608D99A4D9.jpeg

This TV should last me the entire lifecycle of the PS5 đź•°

I will not need to upgrade my TV again for many years. Just like the Vizio lasted me 5 years, I expect this one to do the same. I don't think I will have any need to purchase a new TV until the PS6 releases which is a very long time away; a minimum of 7 years I’d estimate. It feels good knowing my latest purchase does an excellent job of future proofing my gaming experience.

I cannot wait to experience 4K 120fps for the first time. I could do that now with Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War, but I’m honestly tired of COD and didn’t purchase it this year. I instead will wait for another game that can hit those high performance marks. Until then I will thoroughly be enjoying my PS5 games in 4K, usually at 60fps.

I will surely be posting about my new Sony X900 again in the future once I’ve had much more time with it. You can expect to see a post about my pros and cons of owning this TV. I’m sure it won’t be perfect, but I feel like I will be pretty spoiled with the amazing new picture quality and speed.

F3584CA2B94E4EFAA73D7650943E353B.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by my blog today đź‘Ź

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency