New World - My First Impressions of This MMORPG Developed by Amazon Games

" " \" \" \\" \\"image.png\\"\\"\"\"""

If your like me, you grew up remembering the good ole days of huge massively multiplayer online role-playing games (MMORPG) such as World of Warcraft, Runescape, Final Fantasy 11, etc… It was something different and exciting at that time because not only were you playing a game with large unending content, you were also playing or competing with other gamers who enjoyed the game as much as you did. These type of games could give an average gamer a sense of purpose and belonging in the community as they were able to help contribute to the overall environment and realness of the world. However, as the days, months and years go on, the world kind of becomes "blah" and you are constantly searching for the next "high" to give you the sense of zest and purpose you've been longing for...

For years I have been THAT gamer who longs for that one MMORPG to scratch the never ending itch which I could never reach. Because of this I would continually restart the games mentioned above, pay the monthly fee for about 1 - 2 months and then stop playing the game completely afterwards. I never quite got that ''fully satisfied'' feeling to last for long. Thus enters New World, which in my opinion, feels like the rebirth of World of Warcraft, Runescape, and Elder Scrolls Online combined into one MMORPG. Yes you heard that right!

" " \" \" \\" \\"image.png\\"\\"\"\""" (The Start Up Screen In All It's Beauty)

GETTING STARTED

Now before buying this game, I did some research to see what it was about and how the launch day was going, which for most MMORPG's, is a complete Charlie Foxtrot! I scoured steam reviews for a few minutes and read lots of reviews and phrases such as: “takes hours to get in” “A fun game if you ever get to play it” “Best queue simulator of 2021!”. This honestly gave me some hesitation and I considered waiting until the launch day bugs were fixed before diving in. However, I decided to watch a few YouTube live videos of the game in action, and after seeing most of them were pretty smooth, I knew I was ready to take that dive.

I paid the $40 dollars to steam, downloaded and installed the game, then watched the introductory cinematic video to figure out what my overall purpose was. I then created my character, looked at a blank screen for about 3 minutes and then was hit with queue waiting list of 866! Yup! I was number 866 waiting to play behind 865 other people. This took about an hour or so before I could actually play the game, so I took a shower and worked on chores until it was time. I've heard of other players in the game report queue positions up to 22,000! Whether that's true or not, I don’t know, but I can say given the hype, I could certainly see some high queue volumes.

" " \" \" \\"image.png\\"\"\""" (Here's a snap shot of the next morning MAX wait times for US East coast.. most worlds had zero waiting)

GAMEPLAY

WOW, without a doubt the gameplay is quite enjoyable and addicting from the very beginning of the tutorial all the way to my mighty level of 8! I knew after I slayed my first enemy using the games combat mechanics, that this was definitely worth the $40 paid and I was getting into something extraordinary. Everything felt very smooth and I really didn't encounter any game breaking bugs or many bugs at all (some may of occurred because I didn't fully understand the game yet). As I progressed through leveling up my character and fitting him with the illest fluffy poet shirt I could find, I ended up falling in love with two main weapons, the War Hammer and the Musket.

I find it very satisfying that I can walk around with both weapons (and a shield!) on my back and switch between them instantaneously. If I wanted big strength, pullout the War Hammer. If I wanted loud noise and distance, pullout the Musket. I've always felt that many games missed this mark and didn't understand that most gamers love versatility and enjoy seeing their swagger attached to their hero, which to me, makes the game more immersive/realistic. Usually they will get one or the other but New World has captured them both and did it flawlessly. Heck, you can even crawl around on the ground in the prone position if you wanted to!

" " \" \"image.png\"\""" (Sigh...Such beautiful scenery)

" " \" \"image.png\"\""" (Cracking Some Skulls With The War hammer and All of Its Might!)

" " \" \"image.png\"\""" (Loving The Over The Shoulder View of The Musket)

" " \" \"image.png\"\""" (You Know The Games Got Depth When You Can Crawl Around The Ground..lol)

CRAFTING AND GATHERING

Crafting and Gathering is also very enjoyable and arguably one of the most addicting parts of an MMO as your resources mean something to someone else who has enough coin and laziness to appreciate them. As well, you become self-sufficient at doing lot of things faster and better with leveling the skill. This is what made me fall in love with Runescape regardless of its graphics, it was the crafting and gathering mechanics of that game which hooked me in. Fortunately, New World shares these same mechanics (and looks waaay better).

For instance, if you happen to cut down a bush for wood or picking up flint off the ground, there is a chance you might also gather other items as well such as fishing bait. Another example is when skinning an animal. You gather the fur and the meat, but you could also have a chance of gathering an additional item such as the animals claw, which can be used in crafting to boost a weapon with a higher critical chance! To me, having that little surprise element of the unknown, increases the addiction of gathering as you may find some rare and valuable ingredients.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, yes there is an auction house in the game, its called the Trading Post!

" "image.png"" (Skinning - Just Hold Still I Know What I'm Doing...)

" "image.png"" (Runescape Fans Can Appreciate This One...)

" "image.png"" (Trading Post)

MUSIC AND SOUND

Amazing! The music soundtrack is calming, appropriate and easily gets you swept up in the environment forgetting that you even have obligations outside of New World. Clearly a great escape! The sounds are also amazing and to me work best with Noise Canceling headphones. Hearing the axe chop into a tree or a pick-axe smack into a boulder is quite peaceful and alluring. Also, the sound of the musket firing into the face of my soon to be vanquished foe, makes it all seem way too real and enjoyable.

"image.png" (One more over the shoulder for the road…)

FINAL IMPRESSION

Granted I couldn't cover everything in this one blog, but overall… I think this game is easily an** 8/10 – 9/10** game. Amazon Games did an Amazing job with this one and should be patting each other on the back! There is also NO subscription fee!!! Granted, my favorable opinion could be because I’m new and currently in the "honeymoon phase" of playing but I got a feeling it will be in my regular rotation for awhile to come. Now, what would make it a 10/10 you ask??? That’s easy, put it on the block-chain! 😂

Until next time...(Pending RC recharge :/ ...)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency