Ring Fit Adventure: the revolution in fitness games and the successor to Wii Fit (Review)

The rebirth of Fit games: Ring Fit Adventure


hope you like this kind of analysis! I'm trying new things here, I hope you enjoy it!

If there is something that all Wii owners have had the joy or misfortune to live those are the games that want to put you to exercise with their game concepts, at the time it was all a bet forward for Nintendo but it seemed that little by little with the dilution of Wii and the subsequent failure of Wii U games of this style were buried in a pit from which it was very difficult to get out, but one day at a conference the company revealed that they not only had plans to develop another fitness game, but that this fitness game would be THE fitness game, it would change all the bases of this subgenre and would challenge the players much more, these were risky statements even for the company because of the point that I will explain below.

Nintendo's fitness games had a serious problem that they saw dragging since Wii, their games like Wii Fit and all their Fitness catalog were aimed at a very specific niche market that yes, was very punctual with each new product they released but their games did not reach the public interest of other type of players, the company's regulars were used to another style of game and Nintendo's Fitness catalog seemed desperate to please them and position all these games with them, Unfortunately for the company they couldn't get it even on Wii where although they had decent sales they didn't get that break they needed to continue producing games of this style, they needed a refocus, to attend to the signals that their players were giving and work to close the gap, I think that's what Ring Fit Adventure is trying to achieve. A game that without much noise has come to Switch and has been the step forward that Nintendo needed, a title that mixes with other genres but also broadens the exercise component while doing so.


To understand Ring Fit we have to understand how to play first, with the purchase of the game we will come a ring that is like a steering wheel of foam rubber where we will have to put our controls, this ring will be our gateway to both the game and its many exercises as it is used throughout the game, besides that we will also have a tape that we will have to adjust to our knee so that the console can detect our movements more accurately, Nintendo's premise is that these two components are going to help us throughout this exciting and epic adventure, my perceptions are a little more discreet, Nintendo wants me to exercise so they pulled another gadget out of their sleeve to make it easier for me to do so, but the game goes much further and proves that it can stand out and become an equally fun and memorable title.

In case I wasn't specific at the beginning, this game has the word "adventure" in it. Nintendo understands that this word means that there is a world in front of us waiting for us, and it makes it true, at least in its style, a whole story mode in a kind of combination between an RPG and several other genres that the game mixes while assigning us exercises, we have a whole combat system where we will have to do exercises like squats to charge different actions (such as attacks, defenses, etc.) but we also have a whole combat system where we will have to do exercises such as squats to charge different actions (such as attacks, defenses, etc.) but we also have a whole combat system where we will have to do exercises such as squats to charge different actions (such as attacks, defenses, etc.) but we also have a whole combat system where we will have to do exercises such as squats to charge different actions, Etc) but we also have the possibility to level up and add new skills to our character, making the quest to restore order and save everyone from the evil dragon of fitness (seriously) is an equally fun and healthy search, the game works at all levels and has a complexity such that the most hardcore gamers surely can not do those push-ups to load the next attack, Nintendo did it, you're exercising with the power of the game.


The game works in such a way that the alert system that the game has warned me to stop playing for a few minutes since I had already been playing for a long time and EXERCISING, in my life I felt more involved in surrealism than at this moment, I was exhausted but what the game offered all that gameplay of dimensions that had nothing to envy to more consolidated RPGs had attracted me and now I was asking to rest, It was a good session and for a change I could exercise and it has left me wanting more, tomorrow is another session but to finish I can only say that Ring Fit is a new step in Nintendo's race to innovate in their games, taking ideas that perhaps did not work at all and renewing them, has it worked this time? For me it's a resounding yes, now step aside, it's my turn to beat the fitness dragon in my living room.

Side note: I know it's a different style of game than what I usually play and bring to my blog but really, my partner gave me this title and I in my arrogance never thought I would come to like it so much, Nintendo is sure of what they do and each game serves a purpose, innovate as much as possible in everything they can, and I love that philosophy in a sea of monotonous companies.


Image Sources
1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . 5 . 6 . 7 . 8 . 9 . 10 .

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency