Losing is fun!

Well it's finally here!

The release of Dwarf Fortress on Steam. Booya boi!

image.png

It's about 50 bucks and the download is quite small for a rich game. Of course since I have not opened and played it I am still at the loading screen.

image.png

I had played this game when it was in ASCI style then unto the modded version.

image.png

The first thing I notice is the loss of that cutscene.

image.png

After making the world. It is a whole process and will form part of the over arching storyline each dwarven fortress you may end up playing with. I chose the biggest possible map since I think I will just have one continuous world loaded once.

image.png

The initial look what the world looks like. I like it!

image.png

I mean after seeing this in ASCI you will just have to trust me if you have not played the old version. I think since this is the first release of the game on steam there will be some things that will not have the complete features of course.

When entering the world you are greeted with a timer moving forward, I think this ticks the game world time forward as well?

image.png

That is just awesome. I think I may be a bit biased to anything so far I am encountering in the game LOL.

Tutorials?

image.png

Who needs them!

image.png

After choosing a sight I am now going through the process of customising my dwarven colony.

Meet one of them

image.png

Oh man this is so awesome. My favorite thing about this game is the sheer wonder reading the descriptions and stories built into the dwarves themselves. I spent quite a bit of time going through each individual dwarf in the embarkation members. Each one has 10 points to play with and the there are 4 kinds of skills or characteristics each one gets to have. From memory if your dwarf is not a novice in something it will take a long time for them to do things they are not even considered a novice at.

Then you have the selection of what to bring with them. I was left thinking of all the different kinds of possible things they will need in the coming years ahead of them. I clearly remember from my last time playing one of my dwarfs went on a rampage because there was no beer and no one who knew how to brew. So it was imperative of me to have a barrel and a brewer with us. Along with the tools to make them. Or I think I chose the equipment correctly.

I am not an expert when I played this game.

The motto Losing is fun.

break page.png

Thanks for your time

If you enjoy my posts, and would like to support me with more than an upvote, thank you very much, see my links below.


Browse merch here.


Click Image

Geomining to a better future referral link if you decide to support me

Click Image

bitcoin public wallet.png

Click Image

Shameless referral link to space game

image.png
Drop in say hello.

My post favourite, by me.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency