My Early Experience with Persona (Part 1)

Or, my road to Persona 5 Royal...


Lately I've been interested in Persona video game series, since Persona 5 Royal got released. I decided to write some articles about the series in general and this article is about how I first encountered in Persona games.

h6jcw9.png
Persona 2 Innocent Sin Characters

The first Shin Megami Tensei (the parent franchise) wasn't a Persona game. It was the first title of another sub-series: Devil Survivor for the Nintendo DS. I liked Devil Survivor's story, and even though the battles were hard and unforgiving I enjoyed the game tactical battle system. What I liked the most however, is how monsters from myth were brought into a modern day Tokyo. The main characters used COMP, a special device that summons the monsters, but they didn't know its origin and why it could do so.

Even before I played Devil Survivor, I heard about a game called P3P, I didn't know anything about it despite how it frequently got in the TOP 10 list of a magazine I used to read which had 2-4 pages about video-gaming every week. It's not until years later that I learned why Persona 3 Portable was regarded this highly by that magazine.

Revelations: Persona

So, the first Persona game I played was Persona 1. I used to play games on emulators very often as a teenager. Persona 1 was one of the latest games I got to try for PS1 and I didn't get too far in the game, playing it just for an hour or two.

a0q56m.jpg
"I dreamt I was a butterfly..."

I didn't play Persona 1 enough to form a judgment on it. It lacked any quality of life improvements of the later games in the franchise and I heard the story only gets good 30 hours in! The opening however stuck with me for a while: "I dreamt I was a butterfly." To be fair it was a quote not a statement original to the game, but you can't get any more philosophical than to start your game with that.

Persona 2: Innocent Sin

u74qau.jpg
P2 Protagonists: Innocent Sin (left) & Eternal Punishment (right.)

So, my brother's friend from the college had a modded PSP and he gave us some of his games to play on emulator. It was the first time I encountered some franchises like Fate/Extra. While the best game of those was DanganRonpa, I believe Persona 3 Portable and Persona 2 Innocent Sin were the second and third best respectively.

I played around 15 hours of Innocent Sin and got attached to the characters, (Maya for life!) I stopped playing after getting stuck at one area, then life happened and couldn't get back to it.

I loved the characters and ideas of Persona 2 way more than the game itself, I thought the enemy encounter rate was a nightmare, and I easily lost my way in the dungeons. The game is as unforgiving as Persona 1. I guess ATLUS were doing a great job at creating hard to beat RPGs.

The main plot idea is: "Rumors magically come true." It's an amazing idea~ I wish more games/stories use it as a plot element.

Persona 2 is a game I really want to go back to, especially since I only played the first game in this sub-series Innocent Sin. I haven't even touched the sequel Persona 2: Eternal Punishment, which I believe is equally good if not better.

After Persona 2...

I got both Persona 2 and Persona 3 Portable at the same time when my brother's college friend gave us a collection of PSP games. I didn't play Persona 3 until I decided to stop playing Persona 2 for reasons mentioned above.

I have a lot to say Persona series from P3 to P5R, so I'll make this a two-part article. Stay tuned for more about Persona as I have a bunch of articles planned for the franchise!

So, what do you think?

Are you interested in the franchise? Have you played a Persona or any of the Shin Megami Tensei game? What were your opinions on it?

If you enjoyed reading this tell me so,
I'm patiently waiting for your comments!


First Persona 2 image is from here. The butterfly image is a screenshot from here. Second Persona 2 image is taken from here.
I think I still have P2 saves somewhere...
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency