[Gaming Impressions] Nintendo Direct Switch Online Announcements Felt Like A Promise To Fans

Nintendo Direct had many amazing announcements. I avoided any leaks for the past month, so I was surprised by some of them, I was the most surprised by Chrono Cross Remaster, but also by the updates for Nintendo Switch Online and some other announcements that I won't go into today.~

switchonline.png

The first update to the Nintendo Switch Online is the addition of two new games from "Mother" series: Earthbound Beginnings for NES & Earthbound for SNES, (the games are known in Japan as Mother 1 & 2 respectively.) I heard a lot about these games before, and this update finally gives me a reason to play them!

The best thing about it? They released just after the Direct!

Since I have a Nintendo Switch Online subscription, I tried Earthbound before writing this, and I had a good time. The character creation segment was more fun than most games I've played, mainly because I knew this game is set in the modern era so I took that in mind while naming the characters.

2022021021192400_05dc14f80a13996b94160cd375afd506.jpg

The 2nd update is for the Switch Online Expansion Pack. Nintendo announced a huge DLC for Mario Kart 8, it'll feature 48 race courses from earlier Mario Kart titles that'll be updated in this game over the next year. If you have a Nintendo Switch Online Expansion Pack subscription, the DLC will come with it for free as long as you're subscribed!

I never expected they'll add another DLC... This is such a pleasant surprise! Like Animal Crossing's DLC before it, Mario Kart 8's DLC is free as long as you're a subscriber, which added to the value of the expansion pack so massively. The expansion pack is almost completely worth it now...

Not for me yet, this was a promise from Nintendo that it will!

You realize what this means, right? It's true that I don't play Mario Kart, but the fact they added another DLC to the expansion pack subscription gives me hope that they'll keep adding them.

Nintendo has many first-party titles: Mario, Zelda, Kirby, Splatoon, Fire Emblem... If these got their DLCs in this subscription, the value of the expansion pack will skyrocket! Having the DLCs for one game is enough for people who have that game, (as many Animal Crossing fans could tell you.) If Nintendo had the DLCs of three popular games at any given time, the price of $50 per year for that & N64 games will definitely look more pleasing.

Small things like these matter when you're dealing with gamers, we don't like waiting too long, but we do like promises.

93i7w7x.jpg

There are multiple games I want to have from this direct alone. Assassin Creed Ezio Collection which features my favorite assassin in the series, Live A Live a classic RPG that never left Japan and just got the HD-2D treatment! Of course, CHRONO CROSS Remaster! This Direct also made me more interested in the Xenoblade series...

That's my take on Nintendo Direct for now... I still have more to say about Chrono Cross so expect an article about it soon, For now, I wish you all a blessed day, and keep gaming in moderation!


  • First image is an edited image from Nintendo's website. 2nd image is a screenshot of Earthbound (taken by me.) 3rd image is a promo screenshot of Live A Live.
  • This impression is also on Read.cash. Different images were used.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency