This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

100 Game Review Milestone at HiveGaming! - Choose the next games for the Special Week! [ENG/ESP]

MILESTONE.png


RIGHTFIX - JSRF.png


As I mentioned on my last post reviewing Star Fox 64, we've actually made it to my 100th game review!! While it has been a wavy ride, it has been fun to revisit a lot of known and obscure gems that either found out thanks to my luck growing up with two older brothers and consoles, by recommendations from the Internet, or just by sheer curiosity nowadays by going down the history lane. Now, since I had made a post celebrating my first Hive anniversary not too long ago where I featured several games and the posts I talked about them (from the first ones I had reviewed here to the ones that were the most popular in HiveGaming), for this occasion decided to focus on some games that I'd like to talk about soon...and also give the opportunity for the community to pick between the categories offered to decide which games should be the first to be featured from here on.

Also, I have kept count of every single game review I've made on an Excel spreadsheet...so yeah, I did count 100 games reviewed in total (which would not include "spin-offs" talking about experiences when playing a game instead of a review, talking about other topics, and so on). In any case, I'll be presenting several games per genre, and I'll be putting out exactly 7 categories for the 7 days of the week where I would be making a special "Hive Gaming Special Week" with the most voted games from the comments left on the post (I wanted to use Strawpoll at first but didn't know if I could use it here; I could edit this to add those later on though).

As I would preferrably wait until enough results are in to determine the 7 selected games for this special week (at least one week after this is published), I might talk about games outside of the ones presented here as usual, since I often don't have a set schedule for that outside of certain exceptions. And apologies if I didn't add relevant images to each section or game...it's pretty late at this hour, but I might add these tomorrow (and for the moment I count you recognizing the names).


-FIGHTING-


I definitely have talked about many fighting games here before, since I grew with a couple of them as a kid, catching an interest to learn how to play them to the point of learning how to do the basic special commands (Hadoken, Dragon Punch, and so on). I remember that the first time I was learning how to DP, it was in Street Fighter Alpha 3 MAX on PSP and I used a double QCF instead of Forward, Down, Forward (since double QCF is usually to do a super attack, as long as you have enough meter), but at one point I learned the proper command. Suddenly, some games like Bloody Roar Primal Fury and Capcom VS SNK 2 made much more sense on how to play...but unfortunately by that point my brothers had already forgot how to play those kind of fighting games after several years of learning myself...

Anyways, I have already mentioned a couple that I would definitely like to talk about one of these days between my experience with them and how much I liked those games long ago (excepting CVS2, which I just talked about a week ago). There are also several other ones that I've also played for quite a while and also can be worth talking about.

  • Bloody Roar Primal Fury (Gamecube)
  • Street Fighter Alpha 3 (Arcade)
  • Skullgirls (PC)
  • Soul Edge (Arcade)
  • Tekken Tag Tournament (Arcade)
  • The King of Fighters XIII (Steam)
  • Virtua Fighter 3tb (Dreamcast)

-RACING-


That other genre that, just like with fighting games, has been embedded into my head thanks to some games that I could enjoy on the Nintendo 64 and Gamecube. Speaking about the N64 in particular, along with Mario Kart 64 (which I already have covered) I also owned a cool racing game called Top Gear Overdrive, which had simple enough handling for the young me to understand and enjoy to the maximum (along with some goofy stuff that I'll definitely talk about when I get to this game). Oh, and how could I forget about the awesome games that were at my local arcade long ago before it closed... (RIP Super Video Mania)

So yeah, here I'm putting a mix of pretty much several games that made me feel awesome at the mere idea of driving at high speeds like a king, leaving others in the dust. For this specific selection, I'll be taking those games I've just mentioned from my childhood (and the ones that were at my local arcade, which also influenced me a lot)...and F-Zero X, which I didn't own for the N64, but I definitely played a lot too through emulation.

  • Daytona USA 2 (Arcade)
  • F-Zero X (N64)
  • F-Zero GX (Gamecube)
  • San Francisco Rush 2049 (N64/Dreamcast)
  • Mario Kart DS (NDS)
  • Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC)
  • Wipeout Pulse (PSP)

-PUZZLERS-


...yep, yet another genre where I also feel quite acquainted with in a couple of ways, and mostly because unlike with Fighting and Racing games, it is WAY less often that you would find other people that would happen to dig puzzle games enough to be able to play with you on versus games. But oh well, I'd say that my choice for playing these kinds of games was due to having Pokémon Puzzle Challenge for the Game Boy Color (as my brother still kept that game and let me play it on my GBA) and Tetrisphere for the Nintendo 64. Everything else, including my hours and hours of playing Tetris games, would come after with access of internet and a search engine to find out more stuff like them.

  • Pokemon Puzzle Challenge (GBC)
  • Pokemon Puzzle League (N64)
  • Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 (PC)
  • Puzzle Bobble/Bust-a-Move (Arcade)
  • Tetris The Grand Master (Arcade)
  • Tetrisphere (N64)
  • Wetrix (N64)

-FIRST-PERSON SHOOTERS-


There's not much else I need to say with this one, do I? Well, I remember the first FPS game I've ever played, if I'm not mistaken, being Halo 2 on Xbox 360, as me and my brothers owned and played it a lot on splitscreen. Counter-Strike 1.6 probably was second place due to how known it is in Venezuela, and my cousins played it a lot. From there, I'd say that I spent several hours on games like Doom, Quake Live (which was based off Quake 3), Left 4 Dead 2 and Halo Custom Edition (which is not 100% the same as Combat Evolved for a couple of reasons). In any case, most of these picks come off from the stuff that I played the most as a kid or that I ended up enjoying a lot with buddies long after.

  • Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (PC)
  • Counter Strike 1.6 (PC)
  • Doom / The Ultimate Doom (PC)
  • Left 4 Dead 2 (PC)
  • Halo Custom Edition (PC)
  • Halo 2 (PC)
  • Quake 3 & Quake Live (PC)

-PARTY GAMES-


These are the kind of games that are absolutely fantastic for when you have your buddies at home or at a party, for have an absolutely crazy competitive free-for-all or in a team-based carnage, and then there are those few ones that work in a co-op enviroment where everybody has to be using their braincells to succeed (though I still need to find more games like this). To put it simply, these games are the ones that you pull out when you wanna have a big old blast of fun with the homies, and most of these were tested by myself before at the weekends with my buddies to great results.

If you're looking for some to try out recently, I can give shout-outs to Duck Game, Power Bomberman, Speedrunners, Worms Armageddon, Ultimate Chicken Horse and Broforce, all of these games that I've also talked about before, and thus I'm giving an honorable mention here instead of being options for new reviews. With that said, here are the new faces to be chosen!

  • BombSquad (PC)
  • Gartic Phone & Skribbl.io (PC)
  • Gang Beasts (PC)
  • Mario Party 3 (N64)
  • Move or Die (PC)
  • Micro Machines V4 (PC)
  • Rocket League (PC)

-MODS, ROMHACKS AND PORTS-


You thought I had forgot about these, did you? It is pretty hard to actually do so when some of the games that I sometimes play for a while by myself or with buddies are romhacks or modified versions of the original game, since they add from new content to keep playing to essential tweaks or simply make the game more accessible to play. I'm also adding here a couple of "ports", which are solutions made by fans to play certain games with higher amount of options, graphical fidelity and customization; more than what playing the game through emulation or an old PC port would allow...since they add modern features with old and new players in mind!

  • F-Zero X Climax (F-Zero X hack)
  • Newer Super Mario Bros. DS (New Super Mario Bros hack)
  • PMEX Remix (Mod for Super Smash Bros Brawl)
  • Slippi (Rollback Mod for Super Smash Bros Melee)
  • Reelism 2 (Mod for GZDoom)
  • Cannonball (Unofficial PC Port for OutRun)
  • Sonic 3 A.I.R. (Unofficial PC Port for Sonic 3)

-RANDOM-

There's always time for playing a literal joke of a game, isn't it? You know, those specifically random games that you've found on the internet from Youtubers that have anything from simple yet hilarious to the straight up obviously absurd...and I don't have much on how to explain these other than I picked these on how they all share a similar factor of either simple and dumb chaos or complete madness...but if you recognize any of these games, you probably get what I'm saying. And yes, some of these are FPS games...but they are weird enough to be guaranteed to be here in a way or another.

Oh, and Getting Over It would definitely count on this category...but no, I'm NOT playing that. Not yet, and not as long as I still keep my sanity... 🤠

  • Cruelty Squad (PC)
  • Goat Simulator (PC)
  • Garry's Mod (PC)
  • SM64 Chaos Edition (N64) [Yes, this is a mod...but an incredibly random one]
  • Sonic Dream Simulator (PC)
  • Sumotori Dreams (PC)
  • Untitled Goose Game (PC)

So those were the nominated options to be selected for the special "HiveGaming Selection Week", which after at least a week from this post, the results will be tallied from each poll and comment made here to decide which games will be featured back-to-back in that special week! Something I have to mention is that you might probably have expected a "Platformer" category here as well, and while there wasn't a slot left for that after thinking up the last two more unique categories, there's always a chance for the next time I plan on something like this (or I simply decide to talk about assorted platformers while this week goes by if I can).


LEFTFIX - TEMJIN.png


Spanish translation with DeepL. All screenshots were captured by myself.


Español


mile2.png

Como ya mencioné en mi último post sobre Star Fox 64, ¡hemos llegado a mi 100ª reseña de un juego! Si bien ha sido un viaje ondulado, ha sido divertido volver a visitar un montón de joyas conocidas y oscuras que, o bien descubrí gracias a mi suerte al crecer con dos hermanos mayores y consolas, por recomendaciones de Internet, o simplemente por pura curiosidad hoy en día al recorrer el carril de la historia. Ahora bien, como no hace mucho hice un post celebrando mi primer aniversario en Hive en el que destacaba varios juegos y los posts en los que hablaba de ellos (desde los primeros que había reseñado aquí hasta los más populares en HiveGaming), para esta ocasión decidí centrarme en algunos juegos de los que me gustaría hablar pronto... y también dar la oportunidad a la comunidad de elegir entre las categorías ofrecidas para decidir qué juegos deberían ser los primeros en ser destacados de aquí en adelante.

Además, he llevado la cuenta de todas las reseñas de juegos que he hecho en una hoja de cálculo de Excel... así que sí, he contado 100 juegos reseñados en total (lo que no incluiría los "spin-offs" hablando de experiencias al jugar un juego en lugar de una reseña, hablando de otros temas, etc.). En cualquier caso, presentaré varios juegos por género, y sacaré exactamente 7 categorías para los 7 días de la semana en los que haría un especial "Hive Gaming Special Week" con los juegos más votados de cada encuesta con los comentarios dejados en el post (no sabía si utilizar Strawpoll para esto, aunque podría agregarlo como un edit después).

Como preferiblemente esperaré a tener suficientes resultados para determinar los 7 juegos seleccionados para esta semana especial (al menos una semana después de que se publique esto), es posible que hable de juegos fuera de los presentados aquí como es habitual, ya que no suelo tener un horario establecido para ello fuera de ciertas excepciones. Y disculpas si no agregué imágenes relevantes a cada sección o juego...es bastante tarde a esta hora, pero podría agregar estos mañana (y por el momento cuento que reconozcan los nombres)


-LUCHA-


Definitivamente ya he hablado de muchos juegos de lucha aquí, ya que crecí con un par de ellos de pequeño, cogiendo interés por aprender a jugarlos hasta el punto de aprender a hacer los comandos especiales básicos (Hadoken, Dragon Punch, y demás). Recuerdo que la primera vez que aprendí a hacer DP, fue en Street Fighter Alpha 3 MAX en PSP y utilicé un doble QCF en lugar de Adelante, Abajo, Adelante (ya que el doble QCF suele ser para hacer un superataque, siempre y cuando tengas suficiente medidor), pero en un momento dado aprendí el comando adecuado. De repente, algunos juegos como Bloody Roar Primal Fury y Capcom VS SNK 2 tenían mucho más sentido en cuanto a la forma de jugar... pero desgraciadamente en ese momento mis hermanos ya se habían olvidado de cómo jugar a ese tipo de juegos de lucha después de varios años de aprender yo mismo...

En fin, ya he mencionado un par de ellos de los que me gustaría hablar un día de estos entre mi experiencia con ellos y lo mucho que me gustaban esos juegos hace tiempo (exceptuando CVS2, del que hablé hace una semana). También hay varios otros que también he jugado durante bastante tiempo y de los que también puede merecer la pena hablar.

  • Bloody Roar Primal Fury (Gamecube)
  • Street Fighter Alpha 3 (Arcade)
  • Skullgirls (PC)
  • Soul Edge (Arcade)
  • Tekken Tag Tournament (Arcade)
  • The King of Fighters XIII (Steam)
  • Virtua Fighter 3tb (Dreamcast)

-RACING-


Ese otro género que, al igual que con los juegos de lucha, se ha incrustado en mi cabeza gracias a algunos juegos que pude disfrutar en la Nintendo 64 y Gamecube. Hablando de la N64 en particular, junto con Mario Kart 64 (del que ya he hablado) también tuve un juego de carreras muy chulo llamado Top Gear Overdrive, que tenía un manejo lo suficientemente sencillo como para que el joven yo lo entendiera y lo disfrutara al máximo (junto con algunas tonterías de las que sin duda hablaré cuando llegue a este juego). Ah, y cómo podría olvidarme de los increíbles juegos que había en mi salón recreativo local hace tiempo, antes de que cerrara... (RIP Super Video Mania)

Así que sí, aquí estoy poniendo una mezcla de prácticamente varios juegos que me hicieron sentir increíble ante la mera idea de conducir a altas velocidades como un rey, dejando a los demás en el polvo. Para esta selección específica, tomaré los juegos que acabo de mencionar de mi infancia (y los que estaban en mi salón recreativo local, que también me influyeron mucho)... y F-Zero X, que no tuve para la N64, pero que definitivamente jugué mucho también a través de la emulación.

  • Daytona USA 2 (Arcade)
  • F-Zero X (N64)
  • F-Zero GX (Gamecube)
  • San Francisco Rush 2049 (N64/Dreamcast)
  • Mario Kart DS (NDS)
  • Need for Speed Most Wanted (PC)
  • Wipeout Pulse (PSP)

-PUZZLERS-


...sí, otro género con el que también me siento bastante familiarizado en un par de sentidos, y sobre todo porque, a diferencia de los juegos de lucha y de carreras, es MUY poco frecuente encontrar a otras personas a las que les gusten los juegos de puzzle lo suficiente como para poder jugar contigo a los juegos versus. Pero bueno, yo diría que mi elección para jugar a este tipo de juegos se debe a que tenía Pokémon Puzzle Challenge para la Game Boy Color (ya que mi hermano aún conservaba ese juego y me dejaba jugarlo en mi GBA) y Tetrisphere para la Nintendo 64. Todo lo demás, incluyendo mis horas y horas de jugar a los juegos de Tetris, vendría después con el acceso a internet y un buscador para encontrar más cosas como ellos.

  • Pokemon Puzzle Challenge (GBC)
  • Pokemon Puzzle League (N64)
  • Puyo Puyo Tetris 2 (PC)
  • Puzzle Bobble/Bust-a-Move (Arcade)
  • Tetris The Grand Master (Arcade)
  • Tetrisphere (N64)
  • Wetrix (N64)

-FPS - SHOOTERS EN PRIMERA PERSONA-


No hay mucho más que tenga que decir con este, ¿verdad? Bueno, recuerdo que el primer juego FPS al que jugué, si no me equivoco, fue Halo 2 en Xbox 360, ya que mis hermanos y yo lo teníamos y jugábamos mucho a pantalla partida. Counter-Strike 1.6 probablemente fue el segundo lugar debido a lo conocido que es en Venezuela, y mis primos lo jugaban mucho. A partir de ahí, diría que pasé varias horas en juegos como Doom, Quake Live (que estaba basado en Quake 3), Left 4 Dead 2 y Halo Custom Edition (que no es 100% lo mismo que Combat Evolved por un par de razones). En cualquier caso, la mayoría de estas selecciones salen de lo que más jugué de pequeño o de lo que acabé disfrutando mucho con los colegas mucho tiempo después.

  • Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare (PC)
  • Counter Strike 1.6 (PC)
  • Doom / The Ultimate Doom (PC)
  • Left 4 Dead 2 (PC)
  • Halo Custom Edition (PC)
  • Halo 2 (PC)
  • Quake 3 y Quake Live (PC)

-JUEGOS DE FIESTA-


Este es el tipo de juegos que son absolutamente fantásticos para cuando tienes a tus amigos en casa o en una fiesta, para tener una competición absolutamente loca de todos contra todos o en una carnicería basada en el equipo, y luego están los pocos que funcionan en un entorno cooperativo donde todo el mundo tiene que estar usando sus neuronas para tener éxito (aunque todavía tengo que encontrar más juegos como este). En pocas palabras, estos juegos son los que sacas cuando quieres divertirte a lo grande con los colegas, y la mayoría de ellos los he probado antes los fines de semana con mis amigos con grandes resultados.

Si estás buscando alguno para probar recientemente, puedo dar un saludo a Duck Game, Power Bomberman, Speedrunners, Worms Armageddon, Ultimate Chicken Horse y Broforce, todos estos juegos de los que también he hablado antes, y por lo tanto estoy dando una mención de honor aquí en lugar de ser opciones para nuevas revisiones. Dicho esto, ¡aquí están las nuevas caras a elegir!

  • BombSquad (PC)
  • Gartic Phone & Skribbl.io (PC)
  • Gang Beasts (PC)
  • Mario Party 3 (N64)
  • Move or Die (PC)
  • Micro Machines V4 (PC)
  • Rocket League (PC)

-MODS, ROMHACKS Y PORTS-


¿Pensabas que me había olvidado de estos, verdad? Es bastante difícil hacerlo cuando algunos de los juegos a los que a veces juego un rato solo o con amigos son romhacks o versiones modificadas del juego original, ya que añaden desde nuevos contenidos para seguir jugando hasta retoques esenciales o simplemente hacen el juego más accesible para jugar. También añado aquí un par de "ports", que son soluciones hechas por fans para jugar a ciertos juegos con mayor cantidad de opciones, fidelidad gráfica y personalización; más de lo que permitiría jugar el juego a través de la emulación o un viejo port de PC... ¡ya que añaden características modernas pensando en los viejos y nuevos jugadores!

  • F-Zero X Climax (F-Zero X hack)
  • Newer Super Mario Bros. DS (New Super Mario Bros hack)
  • PMEX Remix (Mod para Super Smash Bros Brawl)
  • Slippi (Mod para Super Smash Bros Melee)
  • Reelism 2 (Mod para GZDoom)
  • Cannonball (Puerto no oficial para PC de OutRun)
  • Sonic 3 A.I.R. (Port no oficial para PC de Sonic 3)

-RANDOM-

Siempre hay tiempo para jugar una broma literal de un juego, ¿no? Ya sabes, esos juegos específicamente al azar que has encontrado en Internet de Youtubers que tienen cualquier cosa de simple pero hilarante a la recta hasta obviamente absurdo ... y no tengo mucho en la forma de explicar estos que he elegido estos en la forma en que todos comparten un factor similar de cualquiera de caos simple y tonto o completa locura ... pero si usted reconoce cualquiera de estos juegos, es probable que entienda lo que estoy diciendo. Y sí, algunos de ellos son juegos FPS... pero son lo suficientemente raros como para estar garantizados aquí de una forma u otra.

Oh, y Getting Over It definitivamente contaría en esta categoría...pero no, NO voy a jugarlo. Todavía no, y no mientras mantenga mi cordura... 🤠

  • Cruelty Squad (PC)
  • Goat Simulator (PC)
  • Garry's Mod (PC)
  • SM64 Chaos Edition (N64) [Sí, esto es un mod... pero uno increíblemente aleatorio]
  • Sonic Dream Simulator (PC)
  • Sumotori Dreams (PC)
  • Untitled Goose Game (PC)

¡Así que esas fueron las opciones nominadas para ser seleccionadas para la "Semana de Selección de HiveGaming" especial, que después de al menos una semana desde este post, los resultados serán contados de cada encuesta y comentario hecho aquí para decidir qué juegos serán presentados consecutivamente en esa semana especial! Algo que tengo que mencionar es que probablemente habréis esperado una categoría de "Plataformas" aquí también, y aunque no quedaba un hueco para eso después de pensar en las dos últimas categorías más singulares, siempre hay una posibilidad para la próxima vez que planee algo así (o simplemente decida hablar de plataformas variadas mientras pasa esta semana si puedo).


LEFTFIX - TEMJIN.png


Traducción al español hecha con DeepL. Todas las fotos capturadas por mí.