Wrath of the Lich King Classic launched!

Wrath finally launched, and if it had been TBC I know what Illidan would've told me: "You are not prepared!", cause I really wasn't. Only a day before it launched I managed to take advantage of the 50% exp buff to get to 70 and even though I tried my hardest to do it as fast as possible I just couldn't find the time to do things properly to be prepared for the expansion.

One of those perparations would've been to get at least one profession up to 375 to be able to take advantage of the new materials that Northrend offered, instead I had to run around with no gold and barely having enough to buy my skills as I was leveling up. Here's the night of the launch with many players waiting for the zeppelin that arrived a few minutes early:

Don't judge my fps, there were a lot of people there. Also don't mind the player name I accidentally targeted. He's not relevant to this post.

I tried for the first day to level up as fast as possible but quickly lost concentration and motivation. I decided to instead take a couple days and level up my professions now that everyone was in Northrend. I picked up Herbalism and Mining, so I'd either make a lot of gold during the early days of the expansion or then at some point switch to alchemy or blacksmith while gathering the mats before I switch so I could level it up easily and quickly, maybe even farm up the mats for both blacksmithing and alchemy, haven't decided yet. Both of them make you quite a bit of money daily at high level though. Either way. I didn't record that of course but managed to get both of them to 375 so I could now finally mine and gather herbs in Northrend.

And what did I choose to do next? Yeah, let's not stay in Northrend but let's check the xp/hour I can get by farming TBC dungeons solo cause of some videos I saw on youtube which completely don't relate to me as I don't have high end TBC gear to properly run through them. I did still try, though.

Here's me running through Mana Tombs to check how much xp per hour I can get.

Think I averaged a bit over 350k per hour but wasn't ready for the boss to pull anything close to him as I started the fight, thus got rekt.

Then I decided to instead try do a "xp run" on the newer dungeons with regular players at my level. It wasn't bad, even though I died quite a few times and it seemed the healer was as badly geared as myself so it wasn't that smooth. This averaged out less than 300k per hour, I suspect it could've done a bit better had we not wiped once and me died a few times but Mana Tombs still seems to be better although not viable anymore as I'm reaching a higher level now which means they won't give me any xp at all.

I think best would be to have a druid healer who could at the same time AOE packs I'd pull towards me on a higher level TBC dungeon. They'd still have less HP than WOTLK dungeon mobs so they'd easily be killable, but due to my gear they'd still hit too hard for me to tank them and survive. Maybe I'll manage to find one here soon and we could give it a try to see how fast I could level up as I'm really not a fan of questing and will most likely do anything to avoid that. :P

I'm not that much in a rush to level up as there's plenty of things to keep me busy don't he Hive side on the daily. So will most likely do a little rested xp waiting and maximize that to level up with least amount of time played to maybe start doing some heroic dungeons and raids if anyone would have me. Still undecided on what spec I'm going to play at 80 but I really enjoy healing (especially in PvP) and Paladin's are supposed to be quite strong at it in this expansion.


I'll try add some commentary in future gaming posts, haven't really used my headset much lately for anything so didn't think about that at the time of recording these. Let's see how I decide to level up the rest of the way to 80! (and with hopefully more gold)

Sending part of post rewards to @hivegc as I think the community has a lot of potential for growth and value for Hive in the near future.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency