Razer Viper 8k Review

As I mentioned in one of my latest posts, I bought myself a new mouse after 4 long years of using the Logitech g502 mouse. I was pretty happy with that one, it went through a lot, many drops, many times stuck in tight bags where the clickers were surely pressed in for long periods of time but it still worked really well throughout it. I also liked how big it was, here's a picture of it for reference:


image.png

In the end it started doing this thing where it would double click when it wasn't supposed to which you can imagine gets pretty annoying especially if you use Windows. So it was time to look for a new one, I considered getting a newer model of the same mouse but at the same time I wanted to see what else was out there. I remembered the Razer mouse being a good one before I got this one and at the same time it would fit well with my keyboard when I stumbled upon the Razer Viper 8k and the video of it sold it to me pretty fast. See for yourself:

As a gamer it looked like a good choice, on a price tag of €80 it also seemed decent so I ordered one and tried to not throw any missvotes in the meantime awaiting it.

Then it arrived:

viper.png

viper.png

The back of the box:

viper.png

The box inside the box:

viper.png

The mouse in a bag:

viper.png

RGB Stickers!

image.png

The mouse with a really nice cable!

viper.png

Connected:

image.png

Okay so, first off it took some time to get used to from the bigger previous mouse, this one is also lower but the size was as fitting as I expected it to be. I'll miss a place to hold my thumb on but next to the mouse on the mousepad will be fine.

A week into using it, I noticed something that bummed me out quite a bit. The left clicker started moving, as in, you can push it to the side a bit back and forth, like a millimeter maybe but enough to make a sound and when you click it might make the a sound twice now which is pretty annoying. It's actually getting on my nerve enough lately that I'm considering returning it due to it to see if they'll send a new one or if I can choose another one. I checked if others may have mentioned this about the mouse but couldn't really find any which was weird since it happened this early without me having dropped it or rage clicked.

Maybe I'm just unlucky and this is something rare so not going to judge it based off of that alone, it doesn't really prevent the performance too much but it can get kind of annoying in the long run. Other than that I've been enjoying gaming with it and it's been pretty decent once I got used to it. In CS:GO it feels like it's a bit faster even though I have the same DPI settings on it as my previous mouse.

I'll be trying to game a bit more with it in the near future and upload some gaming content as I haven't had too much time to post lately.

Thanks for reading, let me know if you also have this mouse and what you thought about it!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency