I bought a controller and did some Forza racing

If you know me, you may be aware I'm a #pcmasterrace maximalist usually, meaning I don't enjoy consoles and most of the time find them pretty useless, especially since the games I do enjoy playing are best played with a mouse and keyboard. This goes from first person shooters, MOBA, MMORPG's, etc. On top of that recording said games for content is really smooth to do on a PC and even though I've been fairly lazy with editing the gameplay lately, or just not had the extra time to do so, doing that on a PC is so much easier than transferring them over from console's, etc.

I have to admit, though, that there are games in existence where a controller is much better suited for them than a keyboard and mouse. I haven't played such games much but hoping I'd have some more free time in the near future once some of my projects on Hive are flowing a bit on their own and I don't need to overview or take care of all the voting by myself, that I'll be able to get back to some gaming content and have some more free time for it. I decided to go with a cheap controller just to try it out at first, I realized the inefficiencies of the "joystick" or what you call the thing you hold your thumb on the controller that it won't be great with a cheap one as that's usually what makes them cheaper, with the Playstation and Xbox controllers having it as sensitive as possible to also make FPS games playable and the experience much better but as an experiment I figured it'll be enough at first until I find some games I may actually want to spend more time playing.

So I ordered this controller called Khensu by Krom.

kenshu.png

I'm not going to spend too much time on this one as I think it's a pretty basic controller, plug and play and has buttons for most things you'd need and mimics the console controllers pretty well, except for the sticks being less sensitive. By sensitive I mean, you try and move them as little as possible but in the game it won't take it into effect until you move them enough for it to register, so if you're playing certain shooters or things that require great precision you're going to have a bad time. I fully expect them to be less durable as well and most likely bring back memories of my N64 controller where the sticks would easily tire out after some time and get stuck or loose in certain positions.

What was in the package:

kenshu.png

Included was a small USB receiver, windows quickly installed it as you plugged it in along with a USB charger cable and that was pretty much it, ain't nobody got time to read the manual or has a need for it with this.

Me holding the controller for size, my hands are average size I suppose and I made sure not to dox my fingerprints when taking the picture:

image.png

So here's now some footage of me putting the controller into test-drive :3
I installed Forza Horizon 4, it only cost $1 for a month's subscription on Xbox Online Shop (whatever it's called) and you can play a ton of games during that time. The recording occurred a couple weeks ago, I've just been way too busy to post this in time, not that that matters much anyway but it was quite a fun game if you're into Racing which is one of the games that's most definitely better on a controller than a keyboard/mouse but I'm not that invested to purchase an actual steering wheel and pedals for it.

Recorded in 60 fps, 1440p, no commentary if I recall correctly.

Another one of me doing the drift challenges, which is something I loved in the previous Forza games but have gotten quite rusty by the looks of it, maybe I just need to find the right car!

I also bought a new mouse, the old one had already gotten 4 years old, was double-clicking at random which caused some issues some times so I figured it was about time. I'm not really a materialistic kind of person, I purchase very little things IRL but when it comes to my battlestation I like to spend a little extra since it's literally where I sit all day. :P

More on that in the next post!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency