Dragonflight Dracthyr; Hiveblocks edition

I think I should make posting more frequently one of my new years resolutions cause the past couple years have been quite weak. While things have been a bit on a slow mode lately with some of my projects, mainly POSH where I can't really do much other than bring ideas, discuss them with team members then wait around for said team members who are devs to bring them to reality, I've had quite a few extra time to spend into World of Warcraft. Not saying the devs have been lazy, but they've had other things in their lives to get done before being able to focus back on POSH again, luckily it's time we can focus on it again so looking forward to see its development increase from now on!

But yeah, this is not gonna be a post about POSH, but I really should post more often to keep everyone on the loop on what's going on with it, what we're currently working on and what the next plans for it are. Hopefully this will give me a reason to post more often!

DRAGONFLIGHT, yes, that's what I was gonna post about. What can I say about this expansion, well, I didn't play Shadowlands all that much so can't compare it with it, I also didn't play a lot of other expansions before this, I think last time I played quite serious was Mists of Pandaria and Wotlk. I have however spent quite a lot more time playing this expansion though which may suggest that it has been more "fun".

The dragonflying surely is quite unique and fun, it makes your character be able to soar through the skies at up to 900% speed or something around that whereas before you could only fly up to 250%, IIRC. It's also more like gliding so it requires a bit more of a manual activity than the previous "just point at a direction, press your autorun button and go afk". To maintain speed you gotta glide/swing, go down a bit then climb back up to gain height, etc. Maybe I'll make a post about dragonflying specifically at some point so you can see the in's and out's.

I've leveled quite a few classes to max already but I figured it wouldn't be fair to this expansion not to also give the new class a try. Those are always fun because they are so unique to every other class which more often t than not only receives a few changes each expansion. Considering my main focus will be PvP I would also be at a disadvantage if I didn't know what exactly I'm facing when playing against this new class so I gotta at least check it out enough to learn what it does and can do.

No mic this time neither, gotta fix my setup a bit more here so the AC doesn't make too much noise when I'm trying to record. But it's basically me just going through the beginning phase of the Dracthyr zone and the journey towards the other factions and getting to start leveling in the Dragon Isles.

I'm skipping most quest texts as I usually never read them but I didn't skip the cutscenes for anyone wanting to check them out, so if you really want to read the quests you can pause the video when those pop open.

Oh, and before you watch he main video, this was a really strange occurrence which made me wonder wtf was going on until after a few minutes I realized that for sure something must be bugged at this point and that I required a restart of the game, look at me run around the same room like a headless chicken not knowing what to do:

The main Dracthyr campaign after a restart:

Will continue to level this character up, luckily Dragonflight seems quite alt-friendly as leveling doesn't take a long time and you can do quite a lot of things to get there, whether it's just questing, doing campaign quests, running dungeons, battlegrounds, hell even just gathering herbs or ores, it gets you quite decent xp and the xp required to get to 70 is not a lot compared to previous expansions.

I might go the battleground route so that when I do hit 70 I'll be able to buy quite a decent amount of PvP gear from the get go and see what this class has got in store for us. I usually really like healing so I may switch to that for PvP although I picked the DPS talent tree here at the end of the campaign. We'll see!

Have you been playing dragonflight? What class are you playing mostly and what do you think about the expansion?


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency