Vibes Web3 Music Competition Week 12 || Runaway - song cover || sekani

Vibes Week 12!

It was my birthday on Tuesday (28/05), and I was hoping to do a fun song or something bright and bubbly. Alas, thanks to @jessicaossom and Team Pain 😂😂. This is a long write-up, and I hope you make it to the end.

The last time we had a family picture was on my 8th birthday. Since then, everyone has been busy with their personal lives. One of my siblings relocated to the Netherlands, which made getting together even more difficult. However, everyone was home this time, and I had to appeal to my friends to help with my duties so I could make the family trip to my hometown. Thank God for good friends.


Highlights

I had no muse for the theme this week and was going to try a really sad Scottish folk song (so we could all cry together), but the morning after my birthday, we received news of my only grandparent’s passing. It was not a sad event, though I was pained. She was just a few minutes away, and I didn’t get to see her one last time before she passed.

My grandma was estimated to be 112 years old at the time of her death (there’s strong speculation she was older), so her passing didn’t come as a shock. I was listening to this song the morning she passed, and it really got me thinking.

My grandmother was a sweet woman, though we weren’t very close due to distance. However, there were times she’d fake illness just so my mom could rush down to see her, though we all knew she was agile and very active in her old age.


Made using Canva

There were times she’d call us and ask us to pray so she could die already. On several occasions, she’d dress herself up whenever she felt weird, expecting death to come for her (never caught unfresh hehehe). When nothing happened, she’d narrate all these to us herself. I blamed all this on a lack of peer pressure as she was famously the oldest in a number of neighboring villages, until she passed.

When I heard this song the morning of her demise, it made me wonder if that was how she felt. I was reminded of her life. My mother is the only surviving child of my grandmother’s five children. It made me wonder if old age gave her so much time on her hands that it brought back the pain of losing children and some grandchildren. I wonder if she faked those illnesses because she felt alone in the world and needed someone to hold onto. I wondered if her failing system made her feel unimportant here. I even wondered if she ever played dead because I know she has had her things in order for a long time, even before her system started to fail her recently.

All in all, I’m grateful she passed easily and that she knew the Lord. I hope she gets as much peer pressure as she wants in the bosom of the Lord.

Well, well, thanks for making it this far. God rest the soul of my darling grandma, and cheers to my 13 years and the additional yearss of experience gained 🥂.

My post on X:
https://x.com/Sekan002/status/1797642830015607027

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
48 Comments
Ecency