VIBES Web3 Music Competition Week 5: "Love Letter in Time of War!" (Original - Vocals, Guitar and Harmonica!)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Vibes Community. My name is Jasper, and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa (I’m back home!)! Welcome to Week 5 of the Vibes Web3 Music Competition!

The song that I’m singing this week is one of my older original songs…

It is quite a folky song, I even play harmonica on a rack. I find that many folky songs are about love, and that many others are protest songs… Today’s song is actually a combination of both – a LOVE-PROTEST song! It is called “Love Letter in Time of War!” and is about a young soldier wondering why old politicians have sent him to war when he would rather be home with his love.

This song was inspired by a time when my then-girlfriend, now-wife, was working a 6-month cruiseship contract. I used that feeling of missing her, to write this song with similar emotions!

A few interesting things about the music behind this song:

•I play harmonica on a rack to be able to play at the same time as I play guitar. This style was made famous by old folk legend like Bob Dylan and Neil Young.
•I play with two capos – this allows my C-major to have a very deep root note, and so I get a wider spread of notes from high to low, which I enjoy.
•There is also a section where I tap along the body of the guitar in a percussive way.

My friend Craig Gainsborough-Waring once made a lovely video to accompany this song when he was studying film. He is now a Director/Producer based in New Zealand. He’s even won an Emmy recently! Please check what he was able to do with limited budget here:

Ah well, I hope you like my song! Thank you for listening! Best of luck to everyone entering the Contest!

If you are one of those accounts that are new to HIVE through this contest, please say hello! I would love to tell you about other musical communities here that have initiatives that you can post weekly to, like Hive Open Mic and Hive Music Zone!

My submission link:

Lyrics to “Love Letter in Time of War” by @jasperdick (original)

In the morning, it was in your eye
Your love, I was the luckiest guy
In the sunshine, it was in your song
It was your love, when nothing was wrong

But the war came, and I had to go
Go fight for reasons that I do not know

In the evening, it was in your kiss,
Your love, like Heavenly bliss
In the nighttime, it was in your touch
It was your love, I miss you so much

'Coz the war came, and I had to go
Go fight for reasons that I do not know... I do not know...

Well it's cold out here, I'm pretty scared too
'Coz I'm no hero, I'm just missing you...
You know I'd fight for you, kill for you, die for you, but not for them...
So I'll just stay alive, until I see you again...

And you know one day I'll see you again
Yes one day I'll see you again... oh...

In the morning, it will be in my eye
My love, the happiest guy
In the evening, it will be in our kiss
Our love, like Heavenly bliss

... with all my love... (signing letter)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency