A journey to my roots

One must be clear in life about where one came from, to know where one is and to know where one is going. At least the author of this publication has always been clear about that true sentence.

It turns out that August 10 is my younger sister's birthday and she is alone because her son decided to leave for the Dominican Republic, her twin sister went to Uruguay and her husband is not with her.

I had several questions to ask myself in this situation:

What to do?
Should I go to the east of the country, in spite of the difficult situation in our country?
Is it feasible to travel at this time?

These questions were economic, but other sentimental ones surfaced and questioned me:

Are you going to allow your younger sister to be alone on her birthday?
How will you feel when in a short time you think about what you could have done by going to your family's house in the eastern part of the country and didn't go?
Is it possible that a financial expense can take precedence over family love?

The answer was given to me by my mother who from heaven told me that family is the main thing and that my duty was well known.
With these arguments I made the necessary preparations and left for my origins.

When I arrived to my town I noticed how much it has changed, especially in the mood of the people and the serious problems that the country is going through and that in this region of the country are more difficult. In any case, nothing would prevent me from being happy with my sister and the little family I have left here.

It is indescribable the joys I have felt being with my family. A new member has arrived to brighten dark days and erase with his joy the sad economic ones that this beautiful country is going through.

I recognize that my rhythm of life is different from what I have lived these days and that the hustle and bustle of people, the permanent noise of cars, the complexities of city life and other aspects that I will not name so as not to bore you, altered my metabolism of life a little.

But, there is a child, I already said it and I will not get tired of repeating it because that child who is my grandnephew made my stay different, he was with me picking guava, he got me out of bed and while I drank coffee he tasted his bottle of yogurt, thanks to his language not understandable at all we laughed until exhaustion and his tears and laughter reinforced to me the importance of family for life.

It is nice to see how traditions are maintained and my sister does not allow anyone to sneak the morning coffee, how different the breakfasts are from those in the capital of the country where I live, how the solidarity of the rural people remains almost intact despite the problems and, above all, how I felt that I have not left, even though I have been living away from here for 26 years.

I also did not get away from cooking because according to my family it is something I am good at and I enjoyed the delights of the natural smoothies made by my grandnephew's mother.

Thursday, August 10 will be his birthday, but I felt the need to share this experience. I don't know if it qualifies as a publication. What I do know is that this trip to my roots has renewed my life schedule and made me feel that where my mother is her legacy lives on and the love of family remains our most sacred treasure.

Note: The photos were taken with my Samsung J2 phone and I used the translator DeepL Translate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency