Some Food For My Love

creamy mussels.png

Mussels

Are you a fan of mussels? I never was, I always used to hate it when my mother would occasionally prepare them. She never expected me to eat them thankfully, but still, I tried one a few times and never got used to eating them. It's possible that I didn't like the way they were prepped looking back now.. Yet, I always kept finding them horrific to look at and never wanted a bite when my boyfriend bought some mussels for lunch or dinner for himself.

In the spirit of valentines day

I decided to be a good girlfriend and just prep him some mussels for once, even though I definitely won't try if they are prepped well myself, lol. I'm kidding by the way, I already bought frozen mussel meat a few weeks ago but have been postponing to prep it for him because of different reasons. Yesterday, I decided it was time to do so as I had some leek in the fridge and only needed to get extra carrot to be able to prep it.

Where's that recipe?

I forgot where I bookmarked the recipe I had in mind so in the end I just picked one with cream and followed it more or less. No clue if I was doing it right and if these mussels were supposed to cook for long or not, I read somewhere that if you overcook them they are chewy or tough. Not what I had in mind so I asked him to come and taste a mussel twice while cooking, lol.

What did I add?

I didn't measure, I had 2 small leeks and some already cut onion (I don't like to waste food) in the fridge which I thought was perfect, I matched that up with some carrot which was already cut (easy peasy!) and prepped this for a bit in the pan with some butter.

Mussels with cream and veggies (1).jpg

Not to forget adding some garlic.. After about 10 minutes, I added cream and the half defrosted mussels. I didn't take them out early enough, lesson for next time, now I know it takes a bit more time to defrost them.

Mussels with cream and veggies (5).jpg

Some parsley on top, always a good thing to add if you ask me. I thought it smelled nice, I only used a bit of pepper and no salt because I try to refrain from eating salt when I can, and if I do, I eat a mix of curcuma with keltic salt but I didn't think it was smart to add it to this dish, lol.

The end result

I think if you don't check the mussels, it looks quite good, I really dislike how mussels look lol. I can't help it! At least they are covered up nicely in this picture:

Mussels with cream and veggies (8).jpg

My boyfriend requested a bit more water as he likes to eat the mussels with some bread dipping. We just added a bit later and he really loved it. He never ate them this way but thankfully for me, he ate half yesterday and the rest for lunch today, lol. I'm surprised how fast this was ready so I will probably make it more often now that I know I can buy them in a bag and know what I should adjust a bit next time.

Now what shall we eat for Valentines day? I have no clue yet, any tips?

Happy Valentines day everyone <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency