The Algorithm

These days, it's easy to understand how the algorithm of social networks works. Whatever it is you search for and is all a part of your browsing history is what gets pushed your way, either you like it or not. They believe whatever you spend much time on today is what you'll want to spend time on tomorrow.

Today I had to delete YouTube.

And I did this for no genuine reason apart from me just being tired of their algorithm that keeps pushing things I don't really give an F about.

If you're currently following the hip-hop world, you'll definitely be aware of the disses and battles going on with two of the most exceptional artists. I'm not here to mention names or give a reaction about whatever this person said or what that person said.

But I'm here to talk about why YouTube has continued to flood my feed with a lot of reaction videos. Of course, I did check some out last week before I started work, but now that I'm working I just see it as a distraction and do not want it.

However, I could easily figure out what I wanted to watch on YouTube and just search for it. But I searched deep down into my soul and realized that I do not know what I wanted to watch nor do I know why I'm just on YouTube trying to scroll, scroll and scroll until my internet bundle expires.

I shouldn't be talking about this honestly but with me being someone who easily reflects on shortcoming and all types of scenarios that surround my life, I find it bugging that I could easily imagine how others who are currently scrolling through whatever social network they think would give them what they want.

What do you want?

After asking myself this question, which made me to eventually delete YouTube, I figured out why many youths nowadays are lazy, complacent, and entitled. Before you throw a stone at me, just imagine that right at this moment I was on TikTok scrolling and Watching God knows who content about something I do not know, about someone I have never seen and about something that will definitely not add anything to my life except to entertain me.

Now look at that compared to getting my ass to my keyboard to write a post about this underline issue which I'm sure is bugging others, but many are being silent about it because its so normal nowadays to just wake up and scroll TikTok, YouTube, WhatsApp, Facebook, and other without a reason or goal for going on there.

I do not know about you, but if I am being honest, I think instead of banning things like crypto and banning people like trump, Kanye and Andrew Tate, I think social media algorithms should be banned and if you're not searching for something then nothing should be thrown at your face.

Catch you next time

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency