Rotti, A Traditional Pakistani Bread

Hello everyone at Hive!

I like making rotti, a special bread from Pakistan. It's easy: I mix wheat flour, water, and a little salt. Then, I roll the dough into round shapes and cook them on a hot pan until they puff up and turn golden.


Photo by me*

Rotti is more than just a bread; it's a cherished tradition in Pakistani households that holds a special place in my heart.

Whether eaten with spicy curries or butter, each bite of rotti is a taste of Pakistan and the love infused into its making.

As a child, I would eagerly help my mother make rotti, feeling a sense of accomplishment as I rolled out the dough and watched it puff up on the stove.

Pakistan's diverse bread culture offers a range of delights. Punjab's naan rotti, a soft, thick bread, is baked in a tandoor and often paired with savory dishes.

In Sindh, the crispy Sindhi rotti complements spicy curries, while Balochi rotti from Balochistan is a large, round bread stuffed with minced meat or vegetables.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's Peshawari naan, a soft, thick bread topped with sesame seeds, is a local favorite. Chapati, a thin, unleavened flatbread, is a staple across the country, serving as a versatile accompaniment to various dishes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency