Balance [Poetry]

IMG_20240313_200952.jpg divider curl .webp

What wouldn't I give for a day in the sun?
Yet the flaming heat burns
Searing into my flesh
Tearing my insides apart
Setting me on fire from within
Beads of sweat coat my skin
Running down in rivulets down my pants
I scratch as twinges bombard me
Even in places I dare not touch in public
And so I curse the earth
And scream in frustration
Against this element that seeks to unman me
And I pray for relief
That cool or even cold season
Where everything is chill
Now, that would be heaven

What wouldn't I give for a day in the sun?
As the chill weather stings me to the bone
My lungs on fire from freezing air
The mufflers are not enough
Neither are the sweaters and jackets
My diaphragm aches from within
Seeking to unearth my entrails
The heat from the hearth does nothing
Hot tea doesn't stop the chattering teeth
My jaws freezes sending me into silence
Less talk, more energy to stay warm
And so I pray for relief again.
A place where its soothingly warm
But not in hell!


IMG_20240313_200924.jpg
divider curl .webp

What meaning do you make of these verses? I'll gladly welcome your thoughts in the comments.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Images created by AI in Nightcafe Studio

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency