This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

What's the Link Between Marriage and Money?

source

Warren Buffett, the guy you know I like following if you've been reading my blogs is not just a man worth billions but he's very wise.

He spoke on marriage and said that marrying the right person changes your life in ways that go beyond wealth. But when I hear this, I ask whether it's really that simple.

The statistics shows that married people earn more money. Yes there's actually research backing this claim that married couples have three times the net worth of single people. It's obviously because when you experience the responsibilities of taking of a family, you become wise enough to make more money I think.

They say married couples save more per year and their lives are more organized, especially when one of the partners a conscientious type.

I really want to find out whether marrying the right person guarantee, more money and also happiness. I'm a little skeptical on this one.

I believe having a partner who’s reliable and keeps you grounded to make the right decisions in life can help you in a lot of ways. I've even seen it with some friends of mine that are a couple.

They seem to have a way of balancing each other out financially and emotionally and I would assume that's what Warren Buffett is actually talking about. Even if ome partner lacks financial wisdom, as long as the other one does and they listen to each other, things will work out well for them.

But before you take this advice of Warren Buffett and run your future with it, you should also be aware of the downside of marriage.

There are studies that say that people in relationships exercise less, they gain more weight and usually slack on fitness. I know this for sure because I was once in a relationship which didn't end so well. During the relationship, I had to spend so much time with my girlfriend and had less time for work, for exercise and even for my other friends. All of this takes away a part of your life.

Instead of hitting the gym, your wife wants you to watch Netflix with her. You're basically screwed at that point.

I'm not trying to say that relationships make us lazy, no. I think it's more about priorities. When you’re single, you might hit the gym to look good, but when you’re with someone who loves you as you are maybe the motivation can shifts.

Logo
Center