This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Barista Training & Dirty (Coffee) / バリスタ修業 & ダーティー(コーヒー)

[日本語は後半にあります]

I’ve been left in charge at the café more often lately. I was surprised when I went in thinking I’d have a half-day shift, but it ended up being a full day 😅 I didn’t have anything planned, so it was fine, but I wish boss would have told me in advance. I guess I just need to communicate with him better.

My youngest daughter is doing great at work as well. She is so eager to make coffee drinks that she bothers me a little but I know that the experience of making and serving will help her improve.
Although, she’s just so messy. It’s the same at home.
She understands the difference between drinks and can make anything that doesn’t involve milk just fine. But once milk is involved... things start to fall apart... 😂. So, for now, she’s practicing at home. We use food coloring and dish soap when we practice.

We don’t have any cappuccino or latte cups at home, so we are using measuring cups instead 🤣

I want to improve, too, so I practice from time to time.
Today, while my daughter was practicing beside me, I enjoyed making a dirty coffee. My latest favourite.
I found the recipe on YouTube. It’s not on our café menu though.
I’ve heard it’s popular in Asia.

When I searched about Dirty Coffee in English, it said it originated at a cafe in Tokyo, and the method of making it is the same as what I found on YouTube, and it is called Dirty, not Dirty Coffee. When I searched about it in Japanese, it said it originated in Korea, and the recipes are slightly different.
Dirty coffee and Dirty might be two different drinks and maybe the names are just mixed up.

I’m not sure which is correct, but coffee preparation varies from café to café, so there must be many ways to do it. I’m making it using the method I found on YouTube.

The method is simple: just pour espresso over cold milk. Since you don’t use ice, it’s good to chill the glass as well.

Maybe the “dirty” part refers to how it stays unmixed. If you use high-fat milk or add a bit of cream to your usual milk, it becomes even more delicious. If you mix the espresso and milk, it’ll turn into an iced latte without ice, so you want to drink it as is, without stirring.

Speaking of not stirring... the other day, a customer ordered a latte macchiato. Since a latte macchiato has layers of milk and espresso, I think the idea is to enjoy the distinct layers as you drink. I heard the customer saying “I need sugar!” and started stirring it right in front of me... I wanted to point out that doing that would just make it a regular latte... but I kept quiet, thinking everyone can enjoy their coffee in their own way.

And so, our barista training continues. Until next time!


☕️☕️☕️


[Japanese]

最近のカフェ勤務は、ほぼ任されています。半日シフトのつもりで行ったら1日だったのには驚きましたが😅 ボスという生き物はこういうものなのでしょう。自由というかなんというか、予定がなかったので良かったですが、出来れば前もって言ってもらいたいものです。

次女ちゃんも頑張っています。コーヒーを作りたくてソワソワしています。注文された物を作って出す、というプロセスを経験することが上達に繋がると思うので任せてみたいのですが、とにかく作り方が汚い!笑
家でもそうですが、キッチンを使わせると本当に良く散らかします。
ドリンクの違いは理解していて、ミルクを加えないドリンクなら問題なく作れます。けれどミルクが絡んでくると…もうボロが出過ぎて…😂
というわけで、次女ちゃんは家で練習中です。練習には食紅と食器洗い洗剤を使います。

うちにはカプチーノやラテ用のカップがないので計量カップを使います🤣

私も上手くなりたいので、時々練習します。
今日は次女ちゃんが練習している横でダーティコーヒーを作って楽しんでいました。最近のお気に入りです。

ダーティコーヒーはYoutubeで見つけました。勤務先のカフェのメニューにはありません。
アジアで流行っているとのこと。英語でDirty Coffeeと検索すると東京のカフェ発祥とありますが、ここではDirtyと呼んでいます。日本語で検索すると韓国が発祥で少々作り方が違います。ダーティーとダーティーコーヒーは違うもので、名前が混乱しているのかもしれません。
どちらが正しいのか分かりませんが、コーヒーはカフェによっても作り方が異なるので、色々あるのでしょうね。
私はYoutubeで見つけた作り方で作ります。

作り方は簡単で、冷たいミルクにエスプレッソを注ぐだけです。氷を入れないのでグラスも冷やしておくと良いです。

この混ざっていない感じがダーティなのでしょうか。ミルクを脂肪分の多いもの又はいつものミルクに少しクリームを加えると、これまた美味です。エスプレッソとミルクを混ぜてしまうと氷なしのアイスラテになってしまうので混ぜないでいただきます。

混ぜないで…と言えば、先日、ラテマキアート を頼んだお客さんがいまして、ラテマキアートはミルクとエスプレッソの層が出来ているので、それを楽しみながら飲むものだと思うのですが、その方、砂糖♪砂糖♪…と言いながら私の目の前で混ぜ混ぜし始めました。そ、それではラテになってしまうんだけど…とツッコミを入れたくなりましたが、コーヒーの楽しみ方は人それぞれで良いと思うので黙っていました😅

というわけで、私達のバリスタ修業は続きます。
ではまた。

☆☆☆

That’s all for today.

Thanks for visiting!

いつもありがとうございます!

6478012C-5D7F-4B39-8D8B-6108FC5EE806.jpeg