Having The Bone Marrow Porridge and Pearl As The Takjil

During the Ramadhan month, the word of Takjil becomes famous and often spoken in many conversation in Indonesia. Majority of Indonesia Citizen are Moeslim and they are fasting as it's taught from the Holy Quran. The TAKJIL itself is actually a loan word from Arabic language, ta'jīl, which means to hasten. So the word meaning is to hasten the break fasting or iftar... However the real meaning of Takjil in here is actually the food, so whenever you hear Indonesian people talking about Takjil, it means the food upon iftar.

There are many food available as the takjil, I could make a long list and we can have a long discussion which one is better and so on. However in this post, I will make it simple simple as I will share what I have today. I pick this idea because today I am having the food which is far from common for the iftar.

My Takjil Today

That's my Takjil Today. The drink was a nice hot sweet ice tea. The food... If you ask me what it is, well I don't know too. I do not know how to name that because actually it was a combined of two food. One is Bubur Sumsum and The Other one is Biji Salak.

Those two small plastic are the seasonings. The brown one was palm sugar syrup and the white one was coconut milk. I did not mix or pour them in because I had some health issue so I decided to reduce the volume of sugar and fat in my diet.

Why there were so many plastic there?

We were in the middle of long meeting so we could not get enough time so luckily our boss was very nice so he bough plenty of Takjil for us. That's the beauty during Ramadhan, people care each other, eventhough the bosses aren't Muslim but we have a strong bond to respect and support each other Religious practices.

Ok Back To The Takjil... What is Bubur Sumsum and What Is Biji Salak?

Biji Salak

Biji means Seeds, Salak means Snake Fruit. So biji salak is the snake fruit seeds? Nah, its wrong. I don't know why people call it that, maybe because of the shape which is very similar to that snakefruit seeds. In some part of Indonesia, people call it Candil.

Candil is made from Sweet Potato or Sticky Rice, both can be used depend on how you want their taste. Then you stew them, make it into Compote.

Bubur Sumsum

Bubur is porridge, and sumsum is bone marrow... We eat bone marrow porridge? of course not, please understand if people here like to make funny names. This dish actually is a rice flour cake, which has a shape like a bone marrow. The cake is serve like a porridge, with coconut milk. To replace the soy ketchup, people use palm sugar syrup.

Trying To Get The Recipe

I tried to search the name and recipe through google and it turned out some people already make this kind of food famous... however they were several names depends on who made it famous.

From you tube, I got that the closest one is Bubur Sumsum Candil Mutiara. This is the most similar mix with the one I was having for today. Here is one of the youtube that show how to make this food:

You might be wondering why the colour is different, well because the video show the pandan taste, its green. The original one is white.

Honestly I am not a fan of bubur sumsum and candil, and in normal condition I won't eat them because they are too sweat. However things will be different during the iftar, because we haven't eat and drink for a long time.

Ok thats for today post, have a good day friends

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency