FITNESS FRIDAYS: Searching For New Gear, The Running Shoes

Hola, Como vai, meu amigo?

Do I write that correctly? LoL wherever you are and whoever you are, I hope you are good, and if you aren't well... I hope you will be good soon.

It's been a long time since my post about FITNESS FRIDAY. Yep after I got some problem with my left ankle, I reduced the some of my training menu and got busy in other things. I will be honest here, I haven't done any exercise for the last 7 days. We are having some EID MUBARAK holidays and I have plenty to do, outside of working of course.

image.png

So today I visited some store which selling sports gear, from shirts, pants, shoes, and dumbbells barbell and many more. You can see above, its quite empty because during EID MUBARAK, people here in Indonesia are coming back to their hometowns and village. That's why the city which I am live on, Jakarta, feels so empty right now.

However I am not on some Shopping Spree mission here. I come specifically to get a replacement of my running shoes. Currently I only have one pair of shoes, I wear it for daily shoes,

image.png

This is my shoes, a SKETCHERS that I bought in 2018. Yes 2018, thats almost 6 years ago. I bought this shoes and used it first time on BOROBUDUR MARATHON event, one of the best running event in Indonesia by venue and track. I took a half marathon course there, starting from the Borobudur Temple, through some local village, crossing a paddy field, then got back again to the temple.

SKETCHES was a good shoe and very affordable, however there was one problem in that shoe. They used insole memory foam, which was great however the lifespan was short. In the next 9 months I could not even use it anymore for running. Anyway 9 months was already great, because most insole memory foam only survived for 6 months.

I still maintain the shoes until today, wear it to office. However I could not wear it for running anymore, its killing my plantar.

So I came to those store to do some screening first. I haven't bought any shoes for 6 years, so I do not know how thing change. and today I ended up not buying any shoes, however I will get one within this month because I am planning to do some running again.

TIPS ON GETTING SPORT SHOES

So instead of exercising, this post is about my tips on getting a sport shoes. First thing first, Sport shoes is a bit different than normal shoes. For example my Sketcher shoes, although I maintain it very well, visually it's still ok for 6 years shoes, it could not be used anymore for running. The cushion has deformed, so if I force to do it, I definitely will end up getting an injury.

It's different with normal regular shoes, as long you feel ok and they don't hurt you while you are walking, then it's ok.

Ok back to my tips

1. No One For All

Each sport shoes has a core functionality, so there is no one shoes that can be use for everything. We have basketball shoes, tennis shoes, running shoes, and many more. In the past, I had some conversation with old Gym mate and he said that Cross Training Shoes were the best because he felt comfortable using it for everything.

Ok, I did not want to argue that, everyone had their own opinion. Cross Training Shoes are a Gym Shoes, designed for many Gym activities which most of them are about Lateral movement, that's why you still feel good or great while having other sports which have many lateral movement such as basketball and tennis.

Personally I prefer running shoes, because it is designed to move forward. It's good for me who love to walk long distance. While at home doing weight exercise, I prefer to do those bare feet.

2. Don't Buy Old Model

I always come to the discount and clearance section of the store... However not to buy those shoes but to get a better idea of the price. On that section, usually store takes only a small portion of profit, some even no profit at all.

In my case, I learn that a good running shoes should cost me about 600.000 to 900.000 rupiah, or 37 USD to 56 USD.

image.png

I like that Adidas, however I won't buy it. Never buy old model of shoes, and this is not because of fashion things.

Sports shoes have many part from rubbers and they use glue to stick them all. Those thing have their own lifespan and unused shoes for long time will get some acceleration in rubber degradation. So if old model shoes is almost similar with used shoes, they will be deteriorated in the same time. So think carefully, is the price reduction worth of the shoes life span reduction?

Maybe you think... ok let's get non rubber one, from cloth and polyurethane (PU)... Guess what? it is the same. All material have their lifespan, PU although they don't degrade, but they will get hydrolysis... They lose their elasticity and get brittle and fall apart.

In my opinion, the discounted price is not worthy... but that's my opinion, you are free to have different opinion from me too.

3. Be Bold, TRY Some

There are many shoes brands out there, none is the best. Everyone has their own preferences, some even pick that brand due to the Athletes they hired for endorsement or their brand ambassador.

image.png

There is a necessity for us to try all. From my experience, Adidas suits me most, then PUMA. Somehow I feel Nike shoes doesn't fit me well, they have the best design based on my preference, but feel the worst compared to others.

The thing is that which one is better and which one is worse... is not something that universal. Everyone has different foot shape. For example, some are flat, some have high arch, some are slim, some are wide, and many more.

The reason you need to try some is to get which brand is generally better suitable to you, then get the right model for your feet. Although in some case, the brand which is not suitable to you in general, has the perfect size in one of their type / model.

Well we never know if we never try.

Anyway that's for today #Fitness-Fridays, thank you for coming here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency