Sunday Reflections: Health First (31 Dec 2023) / 日曜日の振り返り

It's the last day of the year. I'm happy to get to know FreeCompliments this year thanks to @go-kyo.

Last week, my chapped fingertip didn't heal well, I cut my forehead roughly, and in the end, a filling from a tooth fell off ...

Fortunately, this week fingertip healed with less water work, the cut on my forehead became much less noticeable, and I was able to get a dentist appointment after the Christmas break to have it fixed. I can't thank medical professionals who are working during the winter holidays.

I have been overloaded with work this month, and at the beginning of the month I was surprisingly tired, so I decided to slow down. I did so because I have a feeling that my mother, who passed away last spring, probably worked too hard and passed away too early. She often told me to take time off (and take time with my daughter) because I was doing the same kind of translation/writing work she did.

She worked as a translator until late at night, always waking up earlier than I did to make lunch box for the family and went back to her computer. As well as raising kids, housework, taking care of elderlies, taking care of dogs, managing the apartment... I wonder when she had time to take rest. She enjoyed working as a translator, and maybe it was a nice break though.

When I went to visit her two years ago, I remember she was very angry on the first day, saying, "Why only me?" I understood she wanted to take rest, she wanted to say what she really thought, she wanted to use her time as she wanted ...

My mother left me with a lesson: "Health first", as I put in the title of the post. And also taking care of my daughter. Compared to my mother's generation, and because of my own personality, I do more the things I want. But still I should ask for others' help for those I am not good at, say "no" to the things I don't like, take rest, laugh a lot, and put my health first in the coming year.

I hope you have a good New Year's holidays 🎍

Photo: Gerbera is one of my good old memory flowers with my mother. I was so much into it, thought about growing my own and share the flowers with my mother and my grandma. Unfortunately Gerbera plants sold in pots didn't grow the long stem ... I always remember this story when I see Gerberas.

~~~

一年最後の一日ですね。

先週はあかぎれがなかなか治らず、おでこをざっくり切って、さらにデンタルフロスをしていたら歯の詰め物が取れてしまいました。

幸い今週は水仕事をセーブしてあかぎれが治り、おでこの傷はずいぶん目立たなくなり、クリスマス休暇明けに歯医者さんの予約が取れて歯の詰め物を詰め直してもらえました。お休み中も治療にあたっている医療関係者の方には頭が上がりません。

今月は仕事を詰め込み過ぎてしまい、月の初めはびっくりするほど疲れていて、いかんいかんと思って休みました。というのも、今年亡くなった母は多分がんばりすぎて、早く亡くなってしまったのかもという思いがあるからです。私が同じような仕事をしていることからよく休むようにも言われていました。

母は深夜まで翻訳の仕事をして、いつも私よりも早く起きて家族のお弁当を作ってコンピューターに向かって、それ以外にも子育て、家事、介護、犬の世話、マンションの管理・・・いつ休んでいたのだろうと思うほどでした。翻訳の仕事は楽しかったようで、良い息抜きだったのかもしれません。

2年前にお見舞いに行った時には、本音だったのか「なんで私だけ」と初日にとても怒っていたのを覚えています。休みたいこともあったよね、思ったことを言いたかったよね。とりあえず全部吐き出して、そのあとは編み物をしながら母と話をして、一緒に食事をして、昼寝を見守って、穏やかに病室で数日過ごしたのが懐かしいです。

母は「健康第一(あと子供を大事にするように)」という教えを残していきました。母世代と比べて、さらに私自身の性格もあり、やりたい放題ではありますが、それでも苦手なことは他の人にどんどん助けてもらって、嫌なことにはきちんとNoと言って、よく休み、よく笑い、健康第一で来年も過ごしたいなと思うのでした。

よい年末年始をお過ごしください 😊 来年もよろしくお願いいたします🎍

画像: 昔、母と気に入ってよく飾ったガーベラを買ってきました。ガーベラが大好きすぎて「自分で育てたら安いしいっぱい楽しめるのでは!」と思った子供の私は、鉢植えを買ってきて育てようとしたのですが、花の茎が長く育たず、そこまで花も出てこず断念しました。ガーベラを見るたびに思い出す子供の頃のおバカな話です。

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency