Memory of my mother and cakes / 母と思い出のケーキたち

Recently, it was the birthday of my mother, who passed away last spring, and my family bought cake to celebrate and remember her. We wanted to buy a Stollen, a traditional German cake rich in butter and sugar, often enjoyed during the Christmas season, but it was sold out. However, the shop lady kindly offered us the last small piece they had left for free.

Stollen holds a special place in my memories as it was the last meal I shared with my mother. We often flied to Japan in December, and we brought Stollen as a souvenir. Two years ago, during the COVID-19 pandemic, I visited my mother in the hospital. On her birthday we shared a Stollen instead of a traditional birthday cake.

I had to leave for Tokyo the next day to catch a flight, not realizing that would be our last meal together. Although I wish we could have had more meals, I have no significant regrets as we enjoyed many delicious foods together throughout the years.

My mother loved the beautiful buttercream decorated cakes. So along with the Stollen, we also bought a buttercream cake. Another cake in the photo is a cheesecake, a fluffy German style one. I imagined my mother saying she would have preferred a denser New York-style cheesecake 😁 I like both though.

My mother, grandmother, and I often enjoyed Black Forest Cherry Cake. After moving to Germany, I discovered it's a German traditional cake from my partner's hometown. What a coincidence! While writing this post, I look forward to enjoying it again on my next visit to my partner's hometown.

My mother loved roses, and although she preferred red roses, I was attracted to a beautiful combination of blue and white at a flower shop, so I bought two white roses and two thistles.

Following my daughter's suggestion that 'Tokyo Grandma loved red roses, so let's have a red candle', we placed a red candle on my cake.

Though my mother passed away quite early, leaving me with a sense of loss, I feel warm and grateful for the many memories she left. I hope to create memories for my family as well.

Have a nice 3rd Advent!

~~~

先日、春に他界した母の誕生日があり、ケーキを買ってきて家族で食べました。お店の人に聞いたらシュトレンは売り切れとのことでしたが、私が残念そうにしていたのを見て、小さいはしっこが残っていたのを分けてくれました。

シュトレンはドイツのクリスマスシーズンのバターと砂糖をたっぷり使ったパンのような焼き菓子です。

シュトレン - Wikipedia

シュトレンは母と最後に食べた思い出の食事です。12月に帰ることがよくあり、お土産に持って帰ることもありました。2年前、コロナ禍で母のお見舞いに行った時に、母の誕生日ケーキがわりに入院先の病院で一緒に食べました。

私はシュトレンを食べて、翌日飛行機に乗るために、東京に移動しました。これが最後に一緒に食べた食事になってしまいました。もっといいろいろ一緒に食べられると思ったのだけどなあ・・・。でもこれまでにおいしいものをいっぱい一緒に食べたので心残りはあるものの、後悔は大きくありません。

いろいろおいしい食べ物を教えてくれた母でした。母は銀座ウエストの美しいバタークリームのデコレーションケーキが好きで、バタークリームのケーキも買いました。一番奥のケーキはチーズケーキです。ふわふわのドイツのチーズケーキで、母がいたら「ニューヨークタイプのどっしりしたのがいいわ」なんていいそうだな、なんて。

母とドイツのケーキといえば、小さい時に祖母と母と葉山の日影茶屋のキルシュトルテ(シュバルツバルダー・キルシュトルテ)を気に入ってよく食べた記憶があります。船長を引退した祖父が葉山から船を出していて、その帰りに日影茶屋に寄っていたのだと思います。でも、今の日影茶屋のメニューにはなく、記憶違いかな・・・。

キルシュトルテは大きくなってからもよく母と食べたケーキで、ドイツに来てからドイツのもので、しかも相方の故郷のケーキだということを知りました 😅 ごちゃごちゃな写真ですが見つけたのでこちらも。

この投稿を書きながら、次回相方の故郷に遊びに行った時に久しぶりに食べたいなと思います。

母はバラが好きで、赤いバラをこの時期飾っていたのですが、お店で青と白の組み合わせがきれいで、白いバラとアザミを2本ずつ買ってきました。

「Tokyo Omaは赤いバラが好きだったのだからろうそくは赤くしよう」という子供の提案で、赤いろうそくを私のケーキに立てました。

母はずいぶんはやく他界してしまい、寂しい気持ちもありますが、日々いろいろな思い出を残してくれたことに感謝しつつ温かい気持ちになるのでした。私も子供にいろいろな思い出を残してあげたいです。

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency