HiveSQL proposal unfunded - Information and reaction

Today at 15:43:45 UTC time, the HiveSQL proposal found itself no longer funded following the withdrawal of @blocktrades' vote.

This quickly resulted in HiveSQL going back to "subscription mode" and no longer accepting new account creation requests. A short time later, following the reactivation of the subscription code, HiveSQL users who did not have an active subscription were denied access to the database.

Information

Before you take out your pitchforks and torches and go to take him to the stake, let's see the reasons for such an action from @blocktrades.

I will repeat here the explanations given to me by @blocktrades, which I find concise, understandable and full of common sense.

HBD is worth more than $1 right now. [It raised over $2, close to $3]
The proposals were written with the assumption that HBD was worth $1.
So when HBD goes more than a dollar, those proposers get more than expected.
So the voters [i.e. anyone] [can] unvote them temporarily, and this serves two purposes:

  1. the proposers aren't overpaid
  2. the additional HBD that is now available gets used to buy up Hive, to allow for more proposals to be funded in the future.

I would add that buying HIVE using HBD can only be beneficial for the price of HIVE and therefore for all of us (read the HBD stabilizer post from @smooth).

Of course, this is the personal opinion of @blocktrades, and so is his action. But it's something that is acceptable to me.

I do not see this as disapproval on his part nor a withdrawal of his support for the HiveSQL project and its proposal, but as a targeted and temporary action to deal with a very specific situation.

Reaction

As always, this kind of situation always happens when you decide to take a break (read my last Witness Update post) and you are no longer at your computer. It's hard when you're on your way for a long trip to stop and sort it out.

I am therefore sorry for the delay in my reaction.
Anyway, I have now been in a hurry and the connections to HiveSQL are re-enabled, which for the time being makes it possible to keep HiveSQL free, even if the proposal is no longer funded.

I have not yet had the opportunity to look at the code for creating new HiveSQL accounts. I will do it tomorrow at rest to avoid introducing bugs.

Support

If you have any questions or remarks, support is provided on the HiveSQL Discord Channel.

Thank you.


Do you want the HiveSQL proposal to be funded again right now?


Check out my apps and services


Vote for me as a witness

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency