This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Installing a Riflescope on my Henry .45-70

Kaja's Shooting Range 5.png

No bilingual post today, as they are no longer permitted in this community. A bit of shame that @galenkp changed the rules, I liked having a place for nearly-exclusive gun-related content, as infrequently as I may post it myself. On the other hand, you know what they say, "the more, the merrier!" Anyway, I have another video to share, in which I install a scope on my Henry H010 ("haitch ten," as I call it) .45-70 lever-action rifle. I filmed this well over a month ago.

image.png

Long-time followers of mine may recall seeing this rifle before. I bought it way back in 2015, shortly after it first entered production. It was reviewed in American Hunter magazine, which is how I became aware of it. There are now a few more variants available from Henry Repeating Arms, some of which look a good bit nicer than the one I bought (I happen to prefer straight rifle grips, as on my flintlock, over the curved grips present on most rifles), but I'm not parting with this rifle any time soon. I'd really like a Sharps, but replicas are a wee bit expensive ($1700-$2200) for my current budget. For comparison, this entire setup cost less than $1000, with the rifle being $670 (where I bought it, anyway, MSRP was $850 when it first became available) and the scope being $260. Unfortunately, .45-70 is an expensive cartridge, and a good reason to get into reloading, especially since I have not seen commercially available loads with anything other than a 300-grain bullet (I prefer 400) for a few years. Perhaps I'll share some of my reloading projects in the future, once I have everything properly set up in one place, and I can thus streamline the process.

image.png

I imagine that some of you may be asking "why .45-70," or if you've ever met me in person (which I doubt any of my Hive followers have), "you can handle a gun that big?" No, seriously, that was the reaction that most of my co-workers had when I informed them what my favourite cartridge was. In their defense, I am a scrawny 14 stone (or 57 kilos for the metric-minded). But anyway, I didn't get this gun to shoot whitetail deer. Initially, I got it to deal with wild boars, because they have been spotted in the wild not far from where I live. The .45-70 was the cartridge for buffalo guns back in the bad old days, so I figured it might work well for boars as well. It's 10 millimetres longer than the .450 Bushmaster, which is probably the most popular wild boar cartridge, at least in the United States. I have yet to see any wild boars, but every year, I keep seeing more and more black bears, and if I ever get a bra tag (that's how my iPhone autocorrected "bear tag," and I promise that's the last time I tell that joke), I'll most likely use this rifle.

That's all for now. The next time I show up in the community formerly known as The Pew, I'll probably have pictures of a deer and, with any luck, the arrow I shot it with.