I moved more supplies to the homestead today, in a borrowed truck.

Today was a crazy involved day moving supplies and materials to the homestead. I needed five cattle panels for the roof on the greenhouse I intend to build and I had a chance to borrow a Truck and a trailer and get them moved. While we were traveling to the homestead anyway, I threw in the accumulated prepping supplies for the last few days.

20210509_135147.jpg
I was fortunate to find six dozen wide-mouth canning jars at Walmart, and some of my long-term storage food had just come in.

20210509_135144.jpg

There's about 20 lb of beans another 10 lb of rice that I picked up a couple days ago now down and stored at the homestead.

20210509_135207.jpg
I picked up some more duct tape that I like to have in quantity and I also like it the smaller roles, in case I need it for barter. I also grab it in different colors if I can find it. Marking things for polarity or ultimate destination by color is an intuitive method.

20210509_135141.jpg
I'm trying to add ten, one gallon cans a month of deep storage food to my long-term storage. I do this primarily by sniping the Lost leaders at the different manufacturers. They give a low price to get me ready to buy their stuff so they can sell me more of the high-priced stuff, so I buy the stuff that they've discounted and nothing else. It's worked well so far, LOL!

I was able to move 5 cattle panels to my Homestead and 20 cattle panels to my nephew's Homestead, where I picked up my scaffolding and returned it to the Homestead for construction use there.

I had a squirrel AKA tree rat, get into one of my storage buildings and damaged a tiny bit of stored food by pushing it off. I blocked the entry, and will return with my 110 conibear trap to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Overall, a successful day even though with both homesteads involved I drove over 200 miles. I need to get the shift lever on my transmission fixed so I can use my own truck and trailer it would have saved me some mileage. Just one more thing to do! I don't look forward to pulling that transmission, but I don't trust anyone else to do the job.

Be blessed and keep on prepping!!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
54 Comments
Ecency