Targets Up!

At last, I have targets up at the new back yard range. I've only put one magazine down range so far, but really liking the target setup.

PXL_20210925_194040804.jpg

The targets come in a kit from Yankee Thunder, as sort of a DIY kit. You get the hooks, the little end braces for the pipe connections, and then what-ever targets you add to your kit. In the first picture you see an 8" circle, a 4" circle, an 11" body, another 4" circle, and another 8" circle. You then just pickup two 10 foot lengths of 1" electrical conduit on your own, and cut them into 80" cross bar and 4 - 40" lengths for the legs.

PXL_20210925_173837309.jpg

PXL_20210925_173915022.jpg

Here's a picture of the legs being cut. I used a Dremel saw, but a manual hacksaw would also do the trick nicely (but not as fun!)

The targets are made from AR500 steel. The four inch are 1/4 inch thick and the 8" and 11" are 3/8 inch thick. The thinner 4 inch are rated for pistols and rifles up to .22 Rimfire and .17 HMR. The thicker 8 inch are rated up to most normal rifle calibers up to 300WM. I guess I'll find out soon if they hold up to the .338 Lapua Magnum.

PXL_20210925_192033239.jpg

What I really love is how portable they are, and can setup/takedown and move literally in seconds. When originally shopping for them, I wanted something portable that I could fit in my car, and yet still sturdy enough to take out to longer distance ranges if I wanted.

PXL_20210925_194550991.jpg
Here's the view from my cell phone from my shooting bench. You may have to zoom to even see the targets there along the left side of the field.

PXL_20210925_194621718.jpg
Here's the same view from my bench from cell phone at 2x and zoomed in on the phone.

These do the trick. I bought three of them to use semi-permanent at 50 yards, 100 yards, and 150 yards. I really like the ability to switch targets around, and even move them from different distances to all lined up at the same distance, for example at some competitions or for different line style shooting. I will also rig up something to hang a paper target or two for when I'm looking to shoot groups.

I just got the pellet gun out today, as most others are still packed away and locked up from the move, awaiting my safe delivery next week. I did a quick check in Strelok app to check for distance and had my first "Ding" ringing away at 100 yards. A couple shots showed my guestimate being a little low and to the right. A quick scope adjustment brought it more into line and then a quick Ding on each of the other targets.
PXL_20210925_200000959.jpg

The power at 100 yards did flip the smaller targets nearly off their hanging hooks. I'll have to see what I can do to make those a little more stable. Great fun to hear the Ding and watch them jump. The lead pellets also left a very nice splatter on the plates as well. I'm thinking there will be all kinds of fun things to experiment with hanging.

I'm sure I'll be doing some Ding videos soon. It's great fun to hear when it connects.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency