Buck Knives Review and Pocket Knife Thoughts

Buck Knives is an American knife manufacturer headquartered in Post Falls, Idaho. I mentioned visiting the factory in an old post just a few months before COVID. At that time, I got the two knives at the bottom of this image through their factory warranty process. In fact, the topmost knife is also a factory refurbishment from much further in the past, and only the second knife down was purchased brand-new as-is.

buck knives.jpg

The Buck 110 has been in production since 1964, making it an American icon on par with the Ruger 10/22 and Ford Mustang in longevity. Pros include corrosion-resistant materials, sturdy lock, and very useful size. Cons are the heavy weight and now-antiquated thumb nick for opening, although versions with a thumb stud for one-handed opening or even an automatic version are now available. This is a nice knife, but it is always fundamentally a compromise. A fixed-blade knife is better for bushcraft and butchering. A smaller knife is better for everyday carry. That said, it remains effective and capable, so I don't want to discourage anyone from buying one. It is also the only model from this lineup still in production, so it's the easiest to acquire by far. If you want a hunting knife that folds, this is the one to get.

Alas, the 300 Glacier has been discontinued. It's also the only knife here that was made overseas, specifically China, but it is a very nice knife nonetheless. Buck has standards, after all. However, I don't think it is covered by the same warranty since it isn't from their own factory. I haven't used this as extensively as the others, but I really like the overall form. Ergonomics are wonderful. It has enough weight to feel substantial, but not too much for pocket carry. If I have any complaints at all, it's the slight fit and finish issues which may or may not be visible in the inset image above. For the price, though, this is entirely forgivable. It opens smoothly, and the liner lock feels solid and secure. Plastic scales have enough texture to grip, although that may be reduced if it gets slimy while gutting fish or game, so it may not be ideal in the woods. The hilt shape nestles nicely in my hand for good control. This is basically everything I want in a light-duty knife for everyday carry. Your mileage may vary, but I recommend this general size and form factor.

Allegedly, the blue scales on my model 444 BuckLite are rare. This knife replaced a broken model 442 I pilfered from my dad when he was planning to throw it out after it broke. I have mixed feelings about this knife. The blade is sharp, and while I don't care for partial serrations, it does help cut cordage. However, even with the embedded bushings at the blade hinge, this is not at all good for any heavy use. Plastic breaks. That is why this needed replacement in the first place. I wouldn't trust this with my life as an emergency kit tool. It's great as a simple EDC knife because it is very light and easy to carry, though, and I like the provision of a thumb stud here. For backpacking and camping, the serrations and light weight might combine to make this the best choice out of the four shown here.

Lastly, the MiniBuck 425 has a special nostalgic place for me. My first knife was a 425. I broke the plastic scales doing something stupid. Buck replaced it anyway. The diminutive 2" blade is enough for a lot of small tasks. The thumb nick and lockback design are minimalist, but adequate. I might consider adding this to my keychain or keeping it in an Altoids tin emergency kit, but I don't recommend a knife this size, and I still object to all-plastic handles as a general rule. It's not bad, just not good enough for my needs. If a small knife with a secure blade lock suits you, by all means buy something like it. Just be aware of the inherent limitations of the materials used.


Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


I usually carry a pocket knife in addition to my Leatherman. A multitool usually has one or more knife blades, but a dedicated knife is always more comfortable to use. I also own a few Swiss Army knives and similar scout knives, but I really don't like their slipjoint non-locks for blades, and I don't live where locking blades are verboten. There is something satisfying about an assisted-opening or automatic knife mechanism, but a thumb stud or similar feature is adequate for one-handed operation. When a knife is needed, one hand may be holding something else and not be free to operate the fiddly little thumb nick, even if that is a more visually pleasing design. I want function and ergonomics over aesthetic considerations.

blades.jpg
Image credit and more useful knife info here.

A decent pocket knife should balance price, quality, and features against your budget and needs. It should be comfortable to use, with contours that prevent your hand from slipping onto the blade during use.

Personally, I like a relatively slender blade around 3 or 3-1/2 inches long with no serrations and a spear or clip point. A smaller blade is better for precision whittling or more discreet carry. If I need a bigger knife, I want a fixed blade and a full tang. My blade preference is very much a general-purpose compromise, and different blade shapes are better for different specialized uses.

A pocket clip is useful if your usual attire has pockets and you can carry a knife openly. It also keeps a knife secure in a tool bag pouch. Just be aware it can gouge things if you brush that metal tab against walls, woodwork, furniture, etc. while carrying it. On the other hand, if you don't need one, it can usually be removed, or you can choose a model without it in the first place.

If you pay more for a knife, you are likely to gain better materials, fit/finish, bearings at the blade hinge, and other advantages. Just consider both what you can afford to buy, and what you can afford to replace if it is lost, broken, or confiscated. As I mentioned earlier, my choices are influenced by the relative lack of restrictions where I live. Your legal situation (and willingness to flout such regulations) may vary.

I lean toward Buck knives because you get a decent knife for the money, and it's a local company I am willing to support. What knives do you like, and why? What features are essential or superfluous to you? Chime in with a comment!

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now