This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Fishing and Talking Life with G-man

Sunday before the wife woke for Mother's Day the youngest (G-man) and I was supposed to get out and go fishing first thing in the morning. However, mother nature had other plans and it rained. So I quickly checked out some comments on my blogs, went over to Discord servers and checked in, then read a little, and caught some news on TV.

BY the time the wife woke up, the rain had stopped, and momma encouraged G-man and I to get out while we could. So we uickly dressed and grabbed our poles, some bait, a bag with tackle and headed out the door.

G-man drove us to a spot at the local creek less than a mile from our house, called Silver Creek.

creek1.jpg

It is fairly muddy, especially after the rain this weekend, but it is still running fairly slow, especially in the spot we picked. It was a nice quite morning. The birds were singing with the low buzz of the Interstate in the distance.

creek2.jpg

Downstream you could see the small "rapids", but they are so small you can't hear them from where we were sitting. There was a shale rock out drop we fished from the other day, but it was wet from this rain and I didn't want to take the chance of slipping on it, plus it wasn't the spot I wanted anyway. The current was a little too fast there. We were on the hunt for catfish this particular day and wanted slower moving water or pooling water.

Gman.jpg

G-man is my youngest and graduates high school this June and will start University this fall to major in Computer Science. He loves to fish, especially with his old man when I am feeling up to it. I feel bad for him because he got the shorter end of the stick than his older brother, who is 10 years older than he is. I was in the prime of my physical health for his older brother growing up. I have been a physical mess most of his childhood and have not been able to do near as much with him as I did his older brother.

gman2.jpg

I asked him after taking this picture above what he was thinking about besides catching a fish. He told me he wished things were simple like when he was a little kid and he knows things are only going to get more complicated as he gets older. I told him the only thing my much mind could summon at the time. "Son, things are only as complicated as you make them, so don't let your life become more complicated than you have to."

I advised him not to go into debt, don't live beyond his means, save his money, don't buy anything he can't buy with cash on hand. All lessons I wish I would have followed myself to make life so much less complicated.

two.jpg

In the end, we didn't catch a damn thing. But we did get to spend some good quality time together and have some good conversation about his future at University and other stuff. We also gave momma a nice morning to herself at home which she doesn;t get often and she appreciated.

HiveDivider.png

Note: Images are all mine taken with my iPhone

100% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png