My Grandfather’s Mandolin

This old thing has seen better days, but I love admiring the beautiful woods and craftsmanship exhibited in its every facet. Some day, I want to get this completely restored, but that may be a long way out.

img_1021.jpg

img_1016.jpg

It was tough to get my camera to focus on the interior labels (above and below), but it was worth it when I was finally able to capture these details. I had actually never read the main label (above), and hadn’t even noticed the warranty label (below)!

img_1017.jpg

I really like how the finish has taken on so much additional character through all this crackling. If I ever get it restored, I’m going to ask them to accent that or leave it as is, but I don’t think I would want to fix that - I remember it looking this way even when I was really little and my grandpa would play it.

img_1014.jpg

The detailed inlays are easy to overlook, but once you see them I think the spectacular details really command appreciation.

img_1018.jpg

I love how they used strips of contrasting woods to shape the back. Is this similar in concept to the use of different wood layers in a laminar bow riser? In other words, does the use of different wood types together like this add structural quality, does it enhance the sound, or is it purely aesthetic?

img_1019.jpg

Thanks for checking out my grandpa’s mandolin! I look forward to sharing and seeing many more instruments as this journey unfolds :)

img_0868.jpg

Would you like to get paid in crypto for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 25.85 PRE tokens, with a market value of $7.75. It’s no fortune, but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0.
Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on internet searches!!!

If you'd like to sign up, click or tap the banner below to use my referral link!

presearch

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency