Testing the 30 meters long wire antenna on the 160 m (1.8 MHz) band (2022.10.10)

This blue wire is my antenna. It is 30 meters long. Currently its highest part is around four meters or five meters above the ground.

The built-in automatic antenna tuner of my Yaesu FT-450D transceiver can make this wire work from 160 m (1.8 MHz) to 6 m (50 MHz). I experimented in digital modes (In WSPR and in FT8) on 160 m (1.8 MHz) in the night.

The WSPR worked in most parts of Europe both in receive and in transmit too, except the east direction, which for some reason did not worked neither in receive, nor in transmit.

In FT8, I made a QSO (two-way contact) with SP7QJF from Poland (396 km), and with PA4CC from the Netherlands (1155 km).

I am a licensed radioamateur since 2012.01.16 (my callsign is HA5KZO), so I am transmitting legally.

By the way, we had good weather today. Sunny and warm. The temperature is still 20 °C.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency