IYC Contest 4 - Peace Garden, Scotland

image.png

“Peace is the virtue of civilization. War is its crime.”
-Victor Hugo.


Hello Hello everyone

In this turbulent time, it is important to remember that the vast majority of our fellow citizens want peace across the world in every country.

I grew up in Belfast in Northern Ireland during The Troubles. One day when I was five I came home from school and was bundled into a car by my mother and whisked off to Scotland by ferry that afternoon.

In later years, I found out that my father had been put on a death list. I have seen first hand what war does in Africa and the Middle East.

Peace is what we as an intelligent race should be striving to achieve.

I think this quote from John Steinbeck says it all.

“All war is a symptom of man’s failure as a thinking animal.”


image.png

Some of you might recognise the above picture as it is from my local park that is a five minute walk from me.

The wonderful @beeber has taken the reins of the Introduce Your Community for the time being and last week she posted the most wonderful and appropriate contest.

The contest is simply called PEACE and if you click the word you can read her original post. I had seen her post already and the awesome @coquicoin and @jelenaa both tagged me in their posts to participate.


image.png

In the contest post, she asks for us to show symbols of peace from our town that we are living in.

Had I been back living in Belfast, I would have posted some from there, however it is in Scotland that I am living now.


image.png

In particular in a small town called Kirkcaldy in the Kingdom of Fife in Scotland in the United Kingdom, boy that was a mouthful.

“War is what happens when language fails.”
Margaret Atwood.


image.png

Located in Kirkcaldy and only a five minute walk from me is a park called Beverdige Park, In the park there are woods, there is a duck and swan pond, there is a rose garden, there is a rugby club and much much more besides.


image.png

There is also a Peace Garden.


image.png

"A people free to choose will always choose peace."
-Ronald Reagan.

The Peace garden was created in 2012 by the Fife Interfaith Group which I think was a fantastic idea, and helps bring the community together and foster peace and harmony..

I think of Peace and tranquility going hand in hand, and a garden is a perfect example of this. I have been to many peaceful memorial and remembrance gardens. Sitting in tranquility and contemplating your surroundings is one of the most peaceful things you can do.

Often I will have my lunch or a sandwich there whilst I am having a walk in the park, and in summer the bushes are covered in gorgeous white flowers and it is a haven for the bees.


image.png

In the centre of the garden is a Peace Pole, which has the following words inscribed on it

May Peace Prevail on Earth

This is written in English Polish Urdu and Arabic, one language for each side of the Peace Pole.


image.png

“We seek peace, knowing that peace is the climate of freedom.”
-Dwight D Eisenhower.

I will finish this post with one final picture of the Peace Pole from my local Peace Garden and thank @beeber once again for this heart warming initiative and would like to invite @jane1289 @princessbusayo and @iskafan to show us something that signifies peace from the town that they are living in.


image.png

Last but not least ....

May Peace Prevail on Earth

silver_divider_logo.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman @TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated.

I can also be found at

NoiseReadTorumTwitter

Haste Ye Back!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency