What's the Truth?

Sometimes I feel like writing and I can think of something to write about. So I write. Sometimes I'm too busy, I don't have ideas and I don't really want to write anything. So sometimes I'll write article every day, sometimes I'll take a break for weeks. I can't tell in advance how it's going to be.

I have an idea today.

This is an ordinary Austrian ducat, diameter 20 mm, gold, weight 3.491 g, purity 986/1000.

And this is again an ordinary "Levant" thaler of M.Therese, silver, diameter 41 mm, weight 28.0668 g, purity 833/1000.

Where is the problem? There it is!

1915? No. Production has continued from 1915 to the present day. Still with the same year shown.

1780? No. Production has continued from 1915 to the present day. Still with the same year shown.

If we can't trust the years depicted on a coin, can we trust the purity data? We can measure it and reweigh it. We know the density of gold. But I think most of us check our dealer once and then simply trust him.

I was just thinking of writing an article about how coins have been cheated in the past. Not to the detriment of collectors, but to the detriment of the issuer and the recipient of the coin.

That's the question. I'm not very good at English. Are my articles understandable or are they weird? Although I think what is ultimately understandable is that it is about coins, especially silver and gold.

I promised myself that I would write at least 24 articles by January 25th. So this is the seventh one.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency