Different Size, Same Weight - 1oz Kook vs 1oz Lunar II

20210327_150107.jpg

I was photographing some coins yesterday for some upcoming posts, when I noticed something that I found quite interesting.

In the photo above, you can see a full sealed roll of 2011 Kookaburra coins and next to it is a roll of 2012 Lunar Series II Dragon coins. If you look closely at the photo you will notice that the diameter size of the Kookaburra coin is slightly smaller than the diameter size of the Dragon coin.

"Hang on a minute!", I can hear you thinking to yourself, "Aren't they both 1oz coins from the same mint?" That is a great question you ask, and it is the same question I asked myself.

20210327_150126.jpg

So, on your behalf I decided to do some further digging to solve the mystery. The extent of my detective work was to take a second photo (the one above).

If you look closely at this photo you will notice that the Kookaburra coin is actually thicker than the Dragon coin. "Phew! That makes more sense", you sigh with relief.

To summarise what we have discovered, although the Kookaburra coin is smaller in diameter than the Dragon coin, it is in fact thicker than the Dragon coin. That is why they are still the same weight of 1oz per coin.

To further prove our point, let's stand the two roll up next to each other, because obviously the thicker coin will result in the roll of 20 coins being longer than the roll of 20 thinner coins...

20210327_150345.jpg

...WHAT!!! The photo above shows the complete opposite. The Kookaburra roll of thicker coins is shorter than the Dragon roll of thinner coins.

RECOUNT...1...2...3....20! Each sealed roll has 20 coins as expected, so what is going on. Well lucky for you, I am such an amazing detective and I have solved the case, so you can rest easier tonight.

If you look closely at the photo above you will notice that the plastic capsules used for the Dragon coins are much thicker than the capsules used for the Kookaburra coins, hence the Dragon sealed roll is taller. I have no clue why The Perth Mint opted to do this, I am sure there is a perfectly reasonable explanation.

My detective work here is done, this world-breaking mystery is solved, now you can go about your day in peace. 😉

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency