1987 Pope John Paul II silver round

I remember the visit of then Pope John Paul II, now St. John Paul II, to California! I was 10 years old.


I still have the umbrella that has Totus Tuus. It is a Latin greeting written in Latin, meaning "all yours". In recent history Totus tuus was used by Pope John Paul II as his personal motto to express his personal consecration to Mary.


Depicted on this round is Mission San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo.

Mission San Carlos Borroméo de Carmelo, popularly known as Mission Carmel, is the second mission in California's series. It was named after Saint Charles Borromeo, a 16th-century archbishop of Milan, when it was founded on June 3, 1770.


This 36 year old round is 1 ozt, .999 fine silver souvenir of St. John Paul II visit to California.

I love him most of all, maybe because he was head of the Catholic Church and sovereign of the Vatican City State from 1978 until his death in 2005. He was later canonized as Pope Saint John Paul II.

John Paul II will undoubtedly go down in history as one of the greatest popes in the 2,000 year history of the Catholic Church. His ministry walked a narrow path between sterile traditionalism and facile accommodation to modernism in the pejorative sense. Neither conservative (opposition to death penalty, speaking truth to powerful dictatorships of the left and right, sophisticated critiques of unbridled capitalism) nor liberal (opposition to women priests and married priests, affirming the dignity of homosexual persons without blessing sodomy, eloquent spokesman for the rights of the unborn and the cognitively disabled), he challenged both extreme tendencies in the Church while reaching out to Jews, Muslims, Buddhists, and secular humanists. In an age that saw the collapse of totalitarianism in its Communist form, he accelerated the process by defending the rights of the workers to nonviolently challenge the "workers' paradise", but then refused to become an apologist for heartless capitalism. Of course, he will not be the last great pope, but he will indeed be a hard act to follow. -- Tom Haessler


😍#ilikeitalot!😍

All photos were taken by me with my iPhone.

Gold and Silver Stacking is not for everyone.
Do your own research!


If you want to learn more, we are here at the Silver Gold Stackers Community. Come join us!



Best Regards,

@silversaver888

I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos, precious metals, and money share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos, precious metals, and money.
All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!



I post an article daily. I feature precious metals every other day, and on other days I post articles of general interest. Follow me on my journey to save in silver and gold.

@silversaver888

.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
57 Comments
Ecency