Crusty Shelby Mutual Insurance Company 1 oz

Oh, man, do I ever have a great old bar today! So much character/toning/patina/tarnish. If you've read my posts before, you know I love old bars with discoloration on them. But this? This is ugly, even for me.

20240125_221134.jpg

Back in the 70's and early 80's, it wasn't unusual for financial businesses to have silver bars minted with their logo on them. I guess kind of an advertising piece, but printed on something actually valuable. Some of these bars are fairly rare and fetch a lot of money. But as far as I can tell, not this one, and certainly not in this condition.

20240125_221247.jpg

Check out the corners. Gross! And beautiful!

20240125_221218.jpg

According to this website*, it was made by Tri-state Refining in 1981. Tri-state is the same company that made this 10 oz bar I posted about years ago. Based on a quick Google search, Shelby appears to still be in operation today. However, Tri-State Refining closed its doors in 1982, shortly after this round was produced.

*side note: Steve Austin, whose site I linked to above, is a pillar of the silver collector community. I've never met him, but I can see his influence everywhere. He gives so much back to this community, so spend a few minutes checking out his site and see if there's something on there you'd like to own. For example, if you like the bar I've posted above, but want a copy that actually looks nice, he has one for sale.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now