Via de la Plata in Spain: Did they have silver mines?

Hi Silver stackers.

During my Spanish classes we had an exercise involving a group of travelers walking the Via de la Plata in Spain, which goes from North to South and was created in the Roman period already.

If they say Plata (= silver) I wake up immediately!

The teacher thought the name was because of silver mines in Spain on that road where I told him most silver in the old age came from Greece territory (now partly Turkey.)

So I decided to look it up and guess what ? No silver mines there in Spain! The name was never ia de la PLata in the old times but was most likely derived - much later - from the arab Ba La Ta which means 'covered with small stones/ paved'.

To still show some REAL PLATA I made a picture of my silver set of proof Libertads of Mexico. Check it out.

IMG_20200527_115103.jpg

hasta luego amigos
Goldrooster

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency