Walking Liberty half dollar

The walking liberty half dollar has to be my favorite design on the 50 cent piece by far. I'm not sure why but I have always appreciated the look of this coin and wish I had a few more.

A little background on the coin, it was minted from 1916 to 1947 and has 0.36169 troy oz of silver. I wanted to try to describe the coin in my own words but it appears that in 1916 treasury secretary William G McAdoo said it better than I ever could-

The design of the half dollar bears a full-length figure of Liberty, the folds of the Stars and Stripes flying to the breeze as a background, progressing in full stride toward the dawn of a new day, carrying branches of laurel and oak, symbolical of civil and military glory. The hand of the figure is outstretched in bestowal of the spirit of liberty. The reverse of the half dollar shows an eagle perched high upon a mountain crag, his wings unfolded, fearless in spirit and conscious of his power. Springing from a rift in the rock is a sapling of mountain pine, symbolical of America.

Front
coin12.jpg

Reverse
coin1.jpg

I don't remember where I got this particular coin from, I think it was from a company that you could subscribe to and they would send you different coins every month. I remember being a kid and thinking that was the coolest thing ever.Hope you enjoyed this post, I'll keep digging through the old collection and see what else I come up with.

quote taken from the walking liberty wiki*

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency