1941 mercury dime

Most of the coins I have posted so far have been a bit larger (dollars, half dollars, quarters, etc..) but good things do still come in small packages. The mercury dime was minted from 1916 to 1945 until it was replaced by the roosevelt diime (which is the current design we have now). It is 90% silver and 10% copper for a total of 0.07234 troy oz of silver.

Front

coin2.jpg

Back

coin21.jpg

I would try to describe what the coin looks like and why but I usually find that someone else has already said it better than I could and in this case it would the director of the mint who was in office when this coin went into production, he described it as-

The design of the dime, owing to the smallness of the coin, has been held quite simple. The obverse shows a head of Liberty with winged cap. The head is simple and firm in form, the profile forceful. The reverse shows a design of the bundle of rods, with battle-ax, known as "Fasces", and symbolical of unity, wherein lies the nation's strength. Surrounding the fasces is a full-foliaged branch of olive, symbolical of peace.

I will admit to not knowing that the reverse was actually a battle axe, though I guess it never really crossed my mind what it could be. I know that growing up I would still occasionally find these in circulation but it has been years since I have seen one just floating around in my loose change. I definitely miss the days of just finding a bit of silver like that but I think for the most part those days are long gone now.

The silver dimes may not be big but ill take every little bit of silver I can get :)

info in this post from the wiki

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency