My Introduction To Silver Gold Stackers Community

MyIntroToSilver.png

Many, Many Years Ago ..

In a far off land called (cough cough) .. Sorry, wrong story. The many years is right though! Now that I am in my mid 40's and reflecting back to my childhood years, I realize that it wasn't just yesterday that I was a young chap without a care in the world. No, I am afraid not. Yesterday has come and gone and today is here for the moment.

A few days ago.. I was conversing with @silversaver888 about Orchids of all things. She recently contributed a post to a new Orchid Lover's Community I started. She also has been so kind as to delegate HP to help get my tiny community going. Well, one thing led to another and the topic of Silver came up. Go figure right?

Long story short, I expressed my interest in silver and collecting it. Since she has shown much love and support for my Orchid passion, I thought I would extend the same curtesy to her. But I really don't see it quite as a tit-for-tat kind of gesture. I am doing it because I have always wanted to and REALLY enjoy the topic of precious metals.

I Want To Be More Involved In Spreading The Word About Precious Metals
And I want to engage with others who share the similar interest and even passion for it.
Hive text divider.png

So Where Do I Start? ..

Right here I suppose! I'll start here in this community. Just browsing the posts here, I can see how this budding community is not only talking about silver and gold, but also spreading the word that it is important to diversify your investments.

It's kind of cool to see what people have found and collected as well.. not going to lie.. Love some of the unique silver pieces displayed here and there.

Delegation ..

I feel like it's always a good idea to give back and support those who support you. Since this community is important to @silversaver888, and she delegated to my Orchid community, I figured I would do the same.

I would REALLY REALLY LOVE TO BECOME A MEMBER Here and I intend on posting here as often as I have something interesting to share. So why not give a little to help all who share the similar interest as myself? I couldn't find a reason not to!

Hive text divider.png

Where Did My Interest In SILVER Start? ..

Well that's an interesting question. I think the spark was created when I found my very first silver coin in some change as a young teenager. I collected my change from the cashier and it just didn't have the same Ching and Chang that it normally did. After getting home I took a closer look at things.

011a3614a71af3a026b712b870dd01c2ba72f1cdcf.jpg

I noticed something odd.. One of the nickels, in the handful of coins, was a darker shade than the others. It also made a softer noise when it clinked against the others. What is this? After consulting my parents, I was told it was a silver nickel. "How Cool Is This", I thought. And thus the spark was created and the fire soon to follow.

What Was It I Found? ..

A 1945 P Silver Jefferson Nickel! Later, and when I really decided to care more about it (if I am going to be honest), I realized the value in it. Not only from a historical perspective, but from a silver collecting perspective too. So it's not all silver, but rather 35% silver. That's okay, because it's still silver!

0197de8944b7b98957bca9ade35ad21ab2806c2e71.jpg

Considering that this piece was quite circulated, it still has a good amount of detail left on it. Monticello still has her columns and windows visible. They are not quite worn down to nothing.

011f58fbf73e04d9c16109b9ec571726b16e0c1102.jpg

Over the years.. I have found a total of 11 of these wartime nickels. They have various dates and mintmarks, almost a complete collection with very few duplicates.

0185b93a036279602a967fe06c979621d8c94de0b7.jpg

The total silver content.. of these 11 nickels, when looking at the as a whole, is not that bad. Each silver nickel contains roughly .05626 ounces of silver. 11 X .05626 = .61886 ounces of Silver! Not a lot, but not bad. They may be worth more than the silver in them, as collection pieces.

I thought it would be nice to have a photo of comparison to a more modern day nickel.. although the one I just randomly picked is from 1985. It also happens to be minted in Philadelphia.. lol.

01b4efdec1fdbd1679f122ef267ab8d7fc5b946103 (2).jpg

017d24bccf3827024586f800aba7ad4c1b5ea9747d.jpg

I don't really want to clean them up either, being afraid of causing more harm than good to the details. I rather like the dark oxidation anyhow.

For Now .. I just keep them safe in a bag, waiting for the day when I tire of them, and I am ready to part with them. I am not ready yet. I suppose if I did part with them, I would no longer be considered a silver stacker, but rather a silver unstacker. hehe.

01c0114a2f93bfd8633a9a8290d1716322f1d6ff59.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Some More Information On These Nickels ..

1942 - 1945 Silver Jefferson Nickel Value (United States)

U.S. MINT SPECIFICATIONS

Denomination: $0.05

Obverse Image: Thomas Jefferson, 3rd President of the United States and author of the Declaration of Independence.

Reverse Image: Monticello, Jefferson's mountaintop home in Virginia.

Metal Composition: 35% silver, 56% copper, 9% manganese

Total Weight: 5.00 grams

Comments: World War II prompted the rationing of many commodities. Nickel was highly valued for use in armor plating, and Congress ordered the removal of this metal from the five-cent piece, effective October 8, 1942. From that date, and lasting through the end of 1945, five-cent pieces bore the regular design but were minted from an alloy of copper, silver and manganese. It was anticipated that these emergency coins would be withdrawn from circulation after the war, so a prominent distinguishing feature was added. Coins from all three mints bore very large mintmarks above the dome of Monticello, and the letter 'P' was used as a mintmark for the first time on a U. S. coin.

CALCULATING TODAY'S MELT VALUE (USD)
Using the latest metal prices and the specifications above, these are the numbers required to calculate melt value:

$25.94 = silver price / ounce on Apr 30, 2021.
.35 = silver %
$4.5148 = copper price / pound on Apr 30, 2021.
.56 = copper %
$1940.0000 = manganese price / ton on Apr 30, 2021.
.09 = manganese %
5.00 = total weight in grams
.0321507466 = ounce/gram conversion factor
.00220462262 = pound/gram conversion factor
1.0 × 10-6 = metric ton/gram conversion factor (see note directly below)

The CME uses pounds to price copper and that means we need to multiply the metal price by .00220462262 to make the conversion to grams. The silver price is based in troy ounces and that means we need to multiply the metal price by .0321507466 to make the conversion to grams. The manganese price is based in metric tons and that means we need to multiply the metal price by 1.0 × 10-6 to make the conversion to grams.

To Calculate 35% silver value :

(25.94 × .0321507466 × 5.00 × .35)  =  $1.4594831419

$1.4594 is the rounded silver value for the 1942-1945 silver nickel on April 30, 2021. This is usually the value used by coin dealers when selling these coins at melt value. However, the total melt value is continued below.

To Calculate 56% copper value :

(4.5148 × .00220462262 × 5.00 × .56)  =  $0.0278692

To Calculate 9% manganese value :

(1940.0000 × (1.0 × 10-6) × 5.00 × .09)  =  $.000873

Then Add the three together :

$1.4594831419 + $0.0278692 + $.000873 = $1.4882253419

$1.4882253419 is the total melt value for the 1942-1945 silver nickel on April 30, 2021.

source

If your interested, visit the source noted above for more information on production runs and what not.

Hive text divider.png

I Am Looking Forward To More Silver Posts ..

As I continue my Silver Stacking Adventure!

My collection is not big by any means of the imagination, but I think some may find the things I do have interesting. Mostly coins, and a few bars for now (thanks to my parents and their generous silver stacking gift giving ambitions). As more funding becomes available and the opportunity arises, I will add to my collection.. That's for certain!

01f017686e638ae0c6450c335cd6d59b58d5627aad.jpg

Until then, Thank You for your interest and support in this new topic (for me) Silver and Gold Stackers!!!

Hive text divider.png

0608001728.jpg

“I told myself that some families we get without asking, while others we choose. And I chose those two. I think that’s what you’d call a silver lining.”
― Jenny Valentine, Broken Soup

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

I am happy to have made @peakd, @null, and @hive.fund beneficiaries to part of the proceeds of this post. If you haven't already, please consider giving back to those organizations and causes that you believe make a difference in your #HIVE experience.. you won't regret it!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency