Warsaken Deck Construction Part 3 (The Morale Deck)

ban.gif

Warsaken Deck Construction Part 3 (The Morale Blitz Deck)

In the previous part of the series, Warsaken Deck Construction Part 2 (The Intel Deck), I walked you through my interpretation of creating a Warsaken Blitz Intel deck. In part 3, we will move on to the Morale deck.

As with any styled deck, it is important to understand how the Morale deck functions, the goals of the deck, and the interactions that Morale cards can execute. So firstly, lets talk a bit about how Morale cards operate in Warsaken Blitz.

When playing Warsaken Blitz, if a player matches 3 Morale cards on the War Zone, it is their choice whether to subtract 6 from the opponent's Morale counter, or to add 3 to their Morale counter. Knowing that we can compromise an enemy leader by getting the opponent's Morale to 0, it is apparent what we are trying to do with this deck style. When running the Morale deck the object is to just hit that Morale counter until you can get your opponent’s leader compromised. Then execute them with your Force set.

As with any Warsaken Blitz deck, you must still remain in the confines laid out in, Warsaken Deck Construction Part 1, or from the Warsaken official rules page found here: https://warsaken.com/rules/blitz

Once again, I am not going to walk through how to pick the leader, or add the territories. If you need help with this part, please see Deck Construction Part 1.

When I start to construct my decks, I like to create the deck in the same manner each time. Knowing morale cards are going to make up the majority of the arsenal, I like to leave those for last. Also knowing I have to include at the very least 1 set of Force cards to eliminate the opponent’s leader, I will add my 2 sets of Force cards first. It does not matter which Force card set(s) you choose, as in Blitz the only thing that matters is that it is a Force card type match. I like to add 2 sets of 4 on my Force cards, some people prefer to add only 1 set. My Force card selections are:

007.jpg

Moving down the Warsaken deck building app, after Force cards comes WMDs. We won’t be adding any WMDs to this deck. Much like the Intel deck, we will not be attacking territories, therefore its just a card slot waster to add WMDs to a Morale deck in my opinion. Buildings on the other hand are just as important in a Morale deck as they are in an Intel deck. You want to be sure to include at least 1 set of Buildings. When you look at the overall construction of this Morale deck, if the opponent were to mill my Force cards, I would be unable to win the game. Having the possibility to retrieve the mill’d Forces greatly increases your odds for a victorious run. I am adding 2 sets of 4 Buildings. Again like any other card in Blitz, only type matters. Rank, health, mechanics need not come into the selection process.

Here are the Building cards I added:

002.jpg

The next card type to look at is Intel. I won’t be adding any Intel cards, this is my Morale deck. You could add a couple of sets of Intel if you want to have the possibility to ‘Bounce’ an opponent’s War Zone matches, any other reason would be a waste. Milling 6 cards from the opponent’s arsenal is a wasted action with the Morale deck. The objective is to reduce the opponent’s Morale counter to 0.

This will move me to adding my Weather cards. I’ll max out my Weather card additions. Warsaken Blitz allows for 16 Weather cards. I’ll add 4 sets of 4 Weather cards. Weather cards are great to match when playing Warsaken Blitz. I have been a part of plenty of Warsaken Blitz matches that came down to that last Weather card match. The power of being able to take another turn is massive.

My Weather cards:

001.gif

After adding all cards other than Morale cards, you can see at the top of the Warsaken deck builder this deck currently has 37 cards.

003.jpg

This leaves 28 card slots left to add before we reach that final deck size of 65. This is 7 sets of 4. Selecting cards from my collection, I will add the final 28 all of Type Morale. Again, it does not matter which Morale cards I add, just that they are of type Morale. Here are the Morale cards I have selected:

004.jpg

Now when we scroll back to the top of the Warsaken deck builder, we can see the deck validity is indicating that this deck is Blitz Ready.

006.jpg

This deck is now playable in the Warsaken Blitz App.

Morale decks are pretty straight forward. Depending on the opponent’s choice of territories/leader combination, the absolute most set matches needed are 4. Every time you match Morale, hit them for -6 morale. The hope is to have drawn to your Force sets by the time you do compromise the opponent’s leader. Make sure to keep your eye on your discard pile if the opponent does start to mill your deck. I like to strategically hold the buildings until I either see my Force cards in the discard pile, or I have made the 3 set match of Force in my hand. I see Buildings, in the Intel and Morale decks, as a tools to retrieve a Force set. Once a Force set is in hand, the next card type I will opt into taking back to hand are Weather cards.

It can become useful to also use the Building cards to restock your arsenal in the event your opponent is milling you. This is another reason I like to add more than just 1 set of Building cards. By utilizing the ability to return 6 cards from your discard to your arsenal, you can try to continuously return 3 of the Building cards back into the arsenal. If you only add 1 set of Building cards, you are limited to 1 dip into your discard pile regardless.

Here is the deck list for this Warsaken Blitz Morale deck.

005.jpg

We are getting ever closer to the inevitable release of Warsaken Standard. The deck construction for Warsaken Standard is going to be a whole new world compared to the construction of a Warsaken Blitz deck. In the next part of this Warsaken Deck Construction series I am going to tackle 1 more style of the Warsaken Blitz deck. The Balanced Deck.

I think ending the Blitz portion of the series with Balanced will be a great way to transition into thinking about Standard deck construction. Although still a Blitz deck, creating a Balanced deck takes thought. How many Forces, WMDs, Intel. How important is each to add. More thought than just, I need this, this, this, and the rest is this…. Such as the Force, Intel and Morale decks.

Until next time see you in the War Zone. @relaylogix

Previous Hive Posts
Warsaken Deck Construction Part 1
Warsaken Deck Construction Part 2
Warsaken Standard Gameplay Guide Part 1

Warsaken Official
Warsaken Discord server
Learn more about Warsaken: https://warsaken.com
Warsaken App

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency