AROUND THE SIMPLE, SMALL COTTAGE WITH NO PEOPLE AROUND

It was a nice, sunny day ...

dsc04431_samo_malo.jpg

... at the end of May. The year was 2015.

dsc07552_malo.jpg

I was busy doing what I do best - practically nothing. :) Just rambling around and observing the world around me.

dsc04424_samo_malo.jpg

I was on the meadow just outside the town, behind the last houses of my neighborhood, and I encountered some ordinary, but quite interesting creatures.

dsc04423_malo.jpg

Stuff like these minuscule spiders ...

dsc04419_malo.jpg

... that have created a living, shape-shifting sphere.

dsc04429_samo_malo.jpg

These are the young spiderlings of the Araneus diadematus, a very common species from the Araneidae (Orb weavers) family.

dsc08311_malo.jpg

I passed across another meadow ...

dsc08314_malo.jpg

... with some pieces of old trees in its middle ...

dsc08318_malo.jpg

... and entered the dense grove made of oak trees and various shrubs.

dsc08349_malo.jpg

I noticed quite a few moths, small green moths, on the lower branches of the oaks.

(Enlargeable)

These are the Tortrix viridana ...

dsc08368_malo.jpg

... commonly known as the European oak leafroller.
An infestation of the larvae can defoliate an oak tree. The adult females lay their eggs next to the leaf buds, which the larvae consume when they emerge. As the larvae grow bigger they eat larger leaves and then roll themselves up in a full-sized leaf to pupate.
I continued through the dense vegetation, and when I came out on another open meadow ...

dsc07765_malo.jpg

... I discovered the small, simple cottage from the title of this post.

dsc07763_malo.jpg

The door was partially open, so I took a look at the interior. It was dark and quiet. Kind of creepy. Taking a good photograph with the small, simple, half-broken camera that I used back then, was impossible. So I made this edit today. In photoshop. It's less realistic, but it looks much better than the original.

dsc07761_malo.jpg

The barbecue place with the chimney looked like a separate building. Almost like a little church, or some other kind of temple.

dsc06328_malo.jpg

Here on the meadow, near the little weekend house, I photographed also these wild asparagus that I picked along the way.

dsc05276_malo.jpg

While sniffing around the area, focused on small things, I find quite a few interesting insects, spiders, and plants.

dsc05277_malo.jpg

This is the Chloromyia formosa soldier fly (Stratiomyidae family).

dsc06122_samo_malo.jpg

These are the fruits of the Tordylium apulum plant.

dsc06169_malo.jpg

Here you can see the Heriaeus hirtus, a lovely little crab spider.

(Enlargeable)

In this enlargeable photograph, you can take a look at the Psilothrix viridicoerulea beetle that feeds on the pollen of various flowers.

dsc06187_malo.jpg

This is the Oxyopes heterophthalmus, a spider from the Oxyopidae family.

dsc03522_malo.jpg

Here you can see some black jumping spider that I don't remember seeing before or since that day in 2015.

dsc03527_malo.jpg

It looks that the spider has some kind of nest or shelter on this dried-out plant.

dsc03526_samo_malo.jpg

I forgot these photographs completely, and I'm very glad that they resurfaced for these Saturday Memories. And now ...

dsc07764_malo.jpg

... with the last look at the cottage interior ...

dsc07766_malo.jpg

... and the small green window on the facade ... is time to end the post.
As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work ... and as always on Saturday when memories are involved, this is a post for the @olga.maslievich's Saturday Memories initiative.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency