Contest// How small joys can brings light to your day


Source

Introduction

Hello everyone on ecency, happy Sunday, I hope this meets you well.

Am excited to participate in the community contest once again. Moreso, the topic (small joys brings light to your day) is a very interesting one.
I will use two different stories to demonstrate it.


The first story

About a week ago, I sent some money home to my parents for their upkeep. For one reason or the other they didn't call me to acknowledge receipt. However, the next morning, I was still fast asleep when my phone started ringing at about 6am.
Lo! It was Mom, I picked and from my end, I felt the joy in her voice while we exchanged pleasantries, and my heart leaped for joy.

Then she went ahead to thank me for the money I had sent to them the previous day. Over the phone, she prayed for me and blessed me. At a point, Daddy was brought on the call. While our brief talk lasted, he thanked me for the little support I had sent them and wished me well before we talked about other happenings and developments at home and eventually bide goodbyes and the call ended.

After I had dropped the call, my face blossomed and I started my morning routines in high spirits because I started the day with the right energy and attitude. Everyone I came in contact with that day felt the positive energy and it helped add postively to my day's work and output.

This little kindness I showed my parents went a very long way lifting their spirits and when they called me, the joy they felt was contagious that it brightened my day and spread across to all i came in contact with for the rest of the day.


Source


The second story

On February 14th this year, I withnessed a scene, where love was shown.
I was seated at a very busy bus stop waiting for someone to come pick me up when a black Mercedes ML Jeep pulled over, It's glasses were tinted. After a whlie the doors opened and a family of four came out. They started bringing out things they had packaged in cartons and gift bags.

I forgot to mention that this junction was notorious for being an abode of mentally unstable people, homeless and abandoned kids in the city.
At this time this family were unloading the things they had in their car, those children had started converging in pairs and groups. Soon after, they brought out a public address system to address the kids. The children were advised to come to a corner and seat down so that the sharing can go on quietly without any form of rush nor stampede.

When they suceeded in getting them to a manageable form, they started distribution of food, which was already packaged in disposable wraps. Each wrap had rice and meat, packaged with a satchet water and a bottle of soft drink. While they were eating and drinking, music was planning from the public address system.
At a point, one of the member's of this philanthropic family opened up the cartons, and started handing them different gift items like; shirts, facecaps and umbrella, which could be counted as part of the nessecities for their survival.

This phase nearly caused rush and stampede. But they managed to control it.

This kindness from this family melted my heart. From where I was seated, I could see how the faces of these children were lite with joy as they can happily boast of having gotten a square meal if not two.
Some demanded for second portions and third and take homes hopefully for their loved ones too.
I left the scene believing once again in humanity and a very happy person. Hopefully, I will replicate this kind gesture someday when fortune smiles on me.


Conclusion

These stories I just shared are real personal experiences and I hope the first helps someone whose parents are still alive and in need to always remember to send them some support as it will brighten their days and elongate thir lives.

Perhaps, the second story encourages us to extend some kindness to the poor, homeless and needy in our societies.

Finally, I hope these stories have helped you see how "small joys can brings light to someone's day".

Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency