The Pet I’ve always Loved

Pexels

Recently, I wrote a piece on my love for cats, highlighting their outstanding qualities and why I like them. I would have talked about keeping one as a pet, but there is no need to repeat my admiration for cats. I would rather desire an animal that has one of the rarest human qualities that can only be found in a few species.

In Nigeria and beyond, the parrot has always been known as talkative, and my tribe often calls it "Olofofo,” meaning “someone that exposes secrets.” The parrot is given this name because it can mimic or repeat whatever it hears. There have been funny tales and real-life situations where people have secret discussions in the parrot’s presence and end up regretting it! Parrots will always repeat what they have heard, and unless you change their location or mind what you say around them, your secret is unsafe.

I would love to keep this talkative as a pet, not just because I don’t talk a lot myself but so that people would mind what they say when they are in my apartment. I don’t have an interest in what people say or think, but I want that caution around my house. I can’t currently buy a parrot because I won’t always be around for its welfare, and that can be detrimental to its health.

Parrots are very intelligent, and I would like to keep such an animal as a pet. Maybe I can even learn a thing or two from their behavior.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency