Queen Of The Night Flower - Nature's Magical Treasure

I love flowers a lot and whenever I find myself in an environment that flowers grow, I don't fail to appreciate these extra ordinary and special gifts of nature that add beauty to our environment. And you know what I usually do not resist the temptation to touch, and probably try to see how they smell, hahaha.


You know when you have the privilege of visiting the royal house and are graced by the queen's presence, you see her glory and splendor and equally experience a royal service, you'll understand how highly honored you are and that's why I would love to see the "Queen of the Night Flower" again.

Yes Queen of the night is my favorite flower and I'll be so happy if only I can get just a petal of it but sadly, it's as if it has gone extinct here in my town. You hardly find it in florist shops and some flower gardens unlike years ago.

Queen or Princess of the night flower is of the family of Cactus with their native from Central and South America but they're grown in every part of the world due to their exquisite beauty and fragrance. It has a floral aroma that's truly unique and unforgettable. Infact It's scent has been described as both sweet and spicy, with a hint of vanilla, hmmm 😍.


I had the privilege of seeing it a couple of times and it's alluring scent always leaves me mesmerized. The family where dad worked as a chauffer then had a beautiful house overlooking the waterside and in it a beautiful garden with various types of flowers. And being the lady of the house's pet girl, she would always ask dad to bring me so I spend the weekend with them. She knows how much I love flowers and will always take me round the garden during the late evening, telling me the names of each of them. How I miss her, God rest her soul. Once we get to where the queen of the night is, I'll just stop to take it enough of it's alluring and mesmerizing scent, then I will pick the petals hoping the scent will still be there by morning so I can show to my friends when I go back home, but alas, it disappears as it wilts and dies.


I think there's a mystery behind why they bloom only at night, usually during spring time, wilts and die off before dawn.

Could it be that they're shy of people seeing their beauty and splendor during the day since they are often referred to as one of the most beautiful flowers in the world. Or maybe they know how peaceful the night usually is so they release their fragrant blooms which wafts through the cool air making the atmosphere calm and relaxed leading to a restful sleep. This is what I usually experience after each encounter with it.



Well there's a legendary claim that it blooms only on the night when a young couple falls in love for the first time. I think I believe this claim because it's sweet fragrance has the tendency of mesmerizing someone luring them to fall in love, hahaha. Don't you think?.

Whichever it is, I just love the flower.


Here are some things to know about this unique flower;

  • The Queen of the Night is just like a star, standing out with its dazzling white flowers that illuminate the night sky commanding the attention of everyone who wish to see it.

  • If you have them in your garden, then you're lucky because with their blooms that are large and fragrant, they transform the garde into a scented haven and a nocturnal paradise as dusk falls.

  • It's fragrance helps improve sleep which is important for one's general well being. Not only that, it can be used in the treatment of insomnia and anxiety, as it's believed to have a calming and sedative effect.

  • It is also believed to have anti-inflammatory properties that can help reduce swelling and pain.

  • Another unique thing about it is that the petals can be brewed into a tea to help boost the immune system and reduce stress.

  • They're also believed to be effective in the treatment of various ailments like headaches, fever, digestive issues and equally serve as expectorant.

  • Talking about aphrodisiac properties which helps to boost libido, this flower has it.

  • Finally, it has a thorny stem with aerial roots, so you need to be careful while touching it.



The Queen of the Night flower is indeed a marvel of nature, a magical treasure and if you're privileged to be graced by its presence, please don't forget to appreciate it's beauty and fragility because it's fleeting.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my favorite flower. Thank you.

This is my entry for the #Ecency-Star-Star #weeklycontest



Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

Image 4



Still the #threadsaddict 😂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency