Green Friends Around My Home!

Plants and flowers make our environment lively and colorful. While plants are food and medicine for man, flowers add beauty to our homes and environment. I love nature and more that's why I prefer living around natural environment because of the calming effect it has on my mental health including other benefits.

For the best plants and flowers for summer, I'll say that there are many of them but I'll just pick just this few ones. There are the veggies like tomatoes, and eggplants and some herbs like leaf of life (Bryophyllum pinnatum, basil, mint, and scentleaf.


Tomatoes



Leaf of life


For the flowers, I'll pick Geraniums. These colorful plants not only look beautiful, but they also attract hummingbirds and butterflies, that's why I'll so much love having them around.


Next will be Hibiscus. Their large, colorful blooms are perfect for adding a touch of paradise to one's home especially at the outdoor space.


There's also Ixora


And this little cute ones I have here.

I got them from a friend and then used these containers to plant them. It's not too beautiful like other flowers but I just fancy having them at my verandah and I enjoy watering them. I hope to get bigger containers and then transplant them as they're outgrowing these ones.


Let me show you some plants I have around my home.

First is the maize which I planted in my small garden. They're actually the white type, I prefer those ones. In few weeks time, they'll be ready to harvest and I'll enjoy them with the pear. Oh, I can't wait, hehehe.


Here's the native pear. We call it Ube. Just like we have seasonal fruits here, this pear is also among and it usually comes out between the time of planting and harvesting maize, which is now. If you want to enjoy maize, whether cooked or roasted, don't forget to eat them along with this pear, perfect combo. Very tasty and nutritious too.

These ones here aren't yet mature. When mature and ripe, the color changes to dark shade of blue.


Tumeric plant too which I planted using polythene bags. I guess you know the health benefits of turmeric. Seeing how well they are growing gives me joy. I hope they give good yield.


There's another one - pumpkin vegetable called ugboru here, my favorite vegetable. This vegetable isn't actually widely known, you can only find it in some parts of my country precisely the East. It's used for preparing some native soups and porridge yam too. They are still in nursery stage.


Next in line is spinach vegetable, another favorite vegetable. I guess some of you know it. Looking for a vegetable for preparing veggie sauce to pair with white rice, yam, plantain, try spinach and you'll thank me later, lol.

Here they are, let me know the ones you like most.

Thank you for reading.....

This is my entry for the #ecency-star writing contest


Still the #threadsaddict 😂



Author's Photos

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency