My job.

This is a in response to a contest about "My job" by @ecency-star.

--

Right from when I was young, I love sharing knowledge with people at any available opportunity. Initially, I didn't identify such a gift and that was why I dreamt of becoming an Engineer.

After finishing highschool, I got admission into the University and studied Chemical/Petroleum Engineering. During the course of my undergraduate studies, my love for teaching continued to grow. The main reason that attracted me to teaching is the level of alertness of a teacher. You have to be a lover of knowledge to be able to transfer the same. The love was evident when I did more of teaching my course mates in preparation for examinations than individual reading.


However, my dream at that point was to teach at the level of tertiary institutions. I never envisaged seeing myself teaching at elementary level. The headache that comes with dealing with children made me write myself off from teaching at that level.


After rounding up my degree, I got a job with a High School as a Mathematics teacher. I worked in the High School for about three years before getting a job with Nigeria Defence Academy Primary School.

IMG-20230502-WA0002.jpg


I was employed to teach Mathematics and Computer Science. I was skeptical in accepting the job initially for the reason I stated earlier about dealing with children.
I gave it a second thought and decided to give it a trial.
For the past 14 months that I have been dealing with the children, I began to create a bond between me and everything about the children.


It took me just a few months to fall in love with my job. One of the most unique things in teaching children is the level of trust they have for their teachers. A good teacher does all he could not to betray such trust. Pupils take their teachers as all-knowing even ahead of their parents. When I recognize this, I strive hard to make sure that I don't mislead them whether in curricular or extracurricular activities.


The school resumed today and only a few turned up. We chatted a lot about the Easter and Eid-el-fitri celebration. It was a moment of laughter and stories about how their holidays were spent. I engaged them in some activities afterwards.

IMG_20230502_110858_822.jpg

IMG_20230502_110800_882.jpg


My dislike about my job currently is the fact that I am not getting challenged intellectually. The level of pupils that I am teaching now is limiting my thirst for more knowledge. Teaching at this level can't be compared with a college lecturer in this regard.


As the world marks workers' day, it is my hope to continue to give the best to the pupils. I love what I do and I love my pupils.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency